Working Women- Balancing Work and Home

2 Comments

Are you a woman who works outside of the home?  If so, you know the challanges of balancing work and home!

Each morning I get up and stare at my iPhone while my alarm is going off.  I’ve written an unpleasant alarm message to try to encourage me to get out of bed in the morning, but I won’t lie, I LOVE the snooze button.  Once I am out of bed (I am SOOOO not a morning person) I stumble into the bathroom, handle my business and hop in the shower.  Once I am out of the shower it’s the usual morning drill, try to tame the curls, if I am feeling froggy I’ll slap on some make up, although most days I avoid it because it simply dissolves in the heat.  I get dressed, grab my lunch, my purse, my Big Bubba mug of tea, a glass of iced coffee and hop into the car.

Then, I begin the 30 minute commute to work.  I usually chat with my friend Tammy while I am driving for a daily catch up- it helps pass the time and somewhat keeps me from road rage, plus she’s awesome.  I get to work, plunk myself in my chair, clock in and start a full working day.  I’m an insurance agent, so I spend a lot of time talking with people and generally staying pretty busy.  Lunch from 12-1 finish up at 5.  Then I start the 30 minute drive home again.

I usually spend my drive home listening to a podcast, Dave Ramsey or Content Warfare, which is a GEM of a podcast if you are working on branding and marketing a blog.  Seriously, listen to it.  Then I get home and my husband usually has dinner ready, he is off earlier in the day than I am, and we eat and catch up on the day.  Then it’s house cleaning time/chores , blogging time, brainstorming, playing with the pets, keeping our finances in line, grocery shopping and the multitude of other things I need to get accomplished in a day…just to start over and do it all again the next day.

I’ve discovered why a lot of blogs simply don’t resonate with me.  Here it comes…ready?

I can’t relate to Stay at Home Moms and their poo problems, and a Stay at Home Mom doesn’t really understand why I come home sweating and ticked off because the AC is out in my car after a 30 minute commute in 98 degree weather.  (Frugal living for the win!!!) I can’t relate to a toddler who suddenly doesn’t want to take a nap, is teething, dumping Cheerios when your back is turned or anything else that would give me an OCD chronic eye twitch, and a SAHM can’t relate to me trying to figure out every single day how I can accomplish the most productive tasks for my home in the 4 hours I have left between arriving home and before I have to go to bed again.

It’s certainly not to say that I don’t respect and admire SAHMs or that I think either one of us have it better or worse than the other.  It’s just that we’re different and unfortunately, I feel like there is a BIG gap in blogging land between women who work outside of the home for a career and women who work inside of the home for a career.

I want to see more women who work outside of the home speak up and say “THIS is how “I” manage  This is how we do it.  This is why I am a STAR in my house!  This is the answer!”

I’m hoping that I can help with that answer here and I am beyond excited to add the new section, Working Women, to this blog!  I have also added 2 new group boards to my Pinterest page, 20 Minutes or Less Prep Time Cooking and Working Women.  If you would like to contribute to those boards, please follow the instructions on Pinterest!

Are you a woman who works outside of the home?  What is your biggest time-saving tip for keeping your house in order?  TELL ME!!!

Are you a Stay At Home Mom?  What is YOUR day like?  TELL ME!

 

Author: Jill Stewart

I am a 37 -year-old woman from Arkansas who is happily married to a Scottish immigrant aka “the hubby” “the hubs” or if I am calling him directly “YO YOU!” We’ve been married for 3 years and it’s been a crazy ride, and unfortunately our finances have been beat to death in the last few years. We have two dogs and a cat, no kids. The Blog- What’ll you find: Financial Information as we try to become debt free My attempts at working and trying to maintain a home to the standards I like My adventures in learning how to sew Arts and craft projects Funny tidbits from my life including living with a Scottish person, the dogs, and other oddball things that happen to me. What you won’t find: Much on children. I don’t have kids and I can’t have kids. Recipes- I don’t mind cooking, but unless it’s something really special, don’t come here looking for the weekly recipe! You won’t find it- unless you ask my husband. If you’re interested in what you see, please follow me on Facebook or sign up for emails! Most of all, leave a comment or ask a question! I am always happy to hear from you!

2 thoughts on “Working Women- Balancing Work and Home

  1. “Poo Problems” I love it! When I worked my days off were filled to the brim because I didn’t have time to do it all. What worked well for me was working Tuesday thru Saturday and having Sunday and Monday off. This allowed me Sunday as a relax hang out with family type of day and on Mondays everyone was working so I was actually able to accomplish things. Now I know that isn’t an option for everyone but it worked really well for me. Other than sometimes I’d miss events because I was working on a Saturday.

    Stay at home moms and wives in blogland seem to set this unattainable bar for their working counter parts because when your working you just don’t have the time to do all the crafty things, make a 5 course meal from scratch or keep at picture perfect house. Let me just say this, most stay at home moms and wives don’t do it either… it just looks like they do! We see maybe 10 photos compared to what goes on the whole week! I can’t wait to read more about how you manage your household and work a full time job! Great topic to be hitting on.

    • I am pretty sure I would give just about ANYTHING to have one day off in the house ALONE!

      I agree, that there is an unrealistic bar for working women, and working women with children? OH MY GOODNESS. I don’t know how some women do it!

Leave a Reply

