The 20 Minute Get Off Your Booty and Clean Challenge- Week 1 Results!

3 Comments

Week 1 results of the 20 MInute Get Off Your Booty and Clean Challenge on Mendedwheels.com

Week 1 is done!  WOOHOO!  It’s been an interesting week!

We had two lovely ladies sign up for this challenge:

Tammy

Tammy Profile

and Millie

Millie

These are both wonderful women who I happen to know outside of blogging.  All 3 of us are at different stages in our lives, so it’s interesting to me to see that we are all struggling with the same issue!

This week I decided to start on bedrooms!  For me, the reason was simple:  There is laundry all over my kitchen table.  I couldn’t even get in to my closet to hang up clothes.  It was out of control, so if I wanted to hang up clothes, I had to clean the closet!  OK, these photos are the honest truth of what it looked like as before and after!  Keep in mind, there was a reason I needed to clean!  YUCK!

The before shot!

Day 1 Before Front Shot

Day 1 After

At the end of Day 1 I could see the majority of the floor and hung up almost all the clean clothes in that basket!  There are still a few very heavy items in there that I cannot lift.  I have to get the hubs to help with those and he is sick right now!  I was sweaty and in pain when this was over.  I HURT, but I did it!

Day 2

Day 2 After!

Ok, so we have a lot of dang books.  A LOT.  I found some extra shelves in the closet that I didn’t know I had, go figure, but I can’t find the brackets.  I’m going to try to find some so I can add an extra 2 shelves back in.  We also have a smaller bookshelf in another room, so some books will go to that and the others will be donated.  We read a lot, so these are books we will read repeatedly.  Although, it’s fair to say, my husband will not be reading Twilight! 😀  This project was 39 minutes and I don’t hurt!  I removed the extra books, placed all of the books in numerical order for the series, because I am OCD like that, and dusted them all off.  Now, I need my Neti Pot!

Day 3

Not gonna lie.  I put my feet up tonight and enjoyed a lengthy chat with my sister-in-law.  She and my brother will be living with us for a few months while their house is completed.  My dogs are excited that their “friends” will be here.  I lost track of time and noticed it was 11:30pm before we hung up…so yeah, not gonna happen tonight!

Day 4

I’m going to count cleaning up my budget and working on bills as cleaning!  It needed to be done and it took A LOT longer than 20 minutes!

Day 5

Not a single thing finished.  Nothing.  Zip ZERO.  Not from me anyway, my hubby cleaned off the bar in our kitchen and the table!  WOOHOO!  I have surfaces!

Day 6

Nothing in preparation for tomorrow…

Day 7

Cleaned a vent in the bathroom

Cleaned the kitchen sink

Swept the front porch (It’s been raining left and right here and there was a mess on the porch!)

Dirty Porch

Clean Porch

Cleaned out the spare bedroom because we are going to have my brother and sister-in-law as guests for a few months while we wait on their house to be completed.  Those photos are a secret! 😀

Annnnnnnnnnnd I’m sore!


Tammy is one of my dearest best friends.  She is a breast cancer survivor and an all around awesome person.  She also just had to have surgery on her neck.  While she is usually at home during the day, the surgery and her lifting restrictions (5 lbs TOTAL) have put her really behind on housekeeping.  She almost didn’t send me photos because she was embarrassed over her progress, but she is less than 8 weeks out from surgery, so doing anything is awesome!

Look at that pile of laundry!

Tammy Bedroom 1

After!

Tammy Laundry

She also dusted all of her books down and put them in alphabetical order by author.

Tammy Books


Millie worked on her bedroom as well!

Millie Dirty Bedroom 1

Mille Bedroom 3 After

Mille Bedroom 1

Millie Bedroom 2

Millie Closet 3

Millie Closet 1

Great job ladies!  I can’t wait to see what we all come up with this week!

 

 

Author: Jill Stewart

I am a 37 -year-old woman from Arkansas who is happily married to a Scottish immigrant aka “the hubby” “the hubs” or if I am calling him directly “YO YOU!” We’ve been married for 3 years and it’s been a crazy ride, and unfortunately our finances have been beat to death in the last few years. We have two dogs and a cat, no kids. The Blog- What’ll you find: Financial Information as we try to become debt free My attempts at working and trying to maintain a home to the standards I like My adventures in learning how to sew Arts and craft projects Funny tidbits from my life including living with a Scottish person, the dogs, and other oddball things that happen to me. What you won’t find: Much on children. I don’t have kids and I can’t have kids. Recipes- I don’t mind cooking, but unless it’s something really special, don’t come here looking for the weekly recipe! You won’t find it- unless you ask my husband. If you’re interested in what you see, please follow me on Facebook or sign up for emails! Most of all, leave a comment or ask a question! I am always happy to hear from you!

3 thoughts on “The 20 Minute Get Off Your Booty and Clean Challenge- Week 1 Results!

  1. Looking good girls! I have plans to work on my bedroom next weekend. Looks very similar to the bedrooms you have posted!

  2. You ladies made some awesome headway! Keep up the good work!

Leave a Reply

