Pressure Washers Rock!

2 Comments

Ummmm. I had NO IDEA concrete is so nasty.  I grew up and still live in the South.  It’s not uncommon in the summer time to run outside barefoot and check the mail, or if you’re a kid, just to run around and play, all while hoping you miss the random sticker patch in the yard.  Another common scene in the South is what I call, well, tree sperm attacks.  A.K.A. pollen.  This year seemed particularly bad for pollen, and I think it’s still causing havoc!

My husband and I purchased a new Homeowners policy this year.  In order to make everything spit-shined and perfect for the inspection we had to take an entire day to do yard work.  This was of course during the time my husband hurt his ankle and was off of work.  My AWESOME brother came over here and slaved away like a crazy man ALL DAY LONG.  My back crapped out on me about 4 hours into it, but he kept plugging away for us.  Oh, and when I say ALL DAY I mean the following chores were completed:

All leaves raked and burned.  We have 7 trees if that give you any idea of the work.

The Sump Pump line was dug up, replaced, re-threaded with a smaller pipe and covered back over.  It’s about 100 ft. of pipe.

The roof was swept down

The gutters were cleaned out

The porch was cleaned top to bottom

Weed eating happened through the whole yard

Mowing occurred

Out of all the things that were accomplished that day, there was NOTHING that impressed me and grossed me out more than pressure washing the concrete.  I haven’t ever cleaned the concrete.  It never crossed my mind that you need to clean concrete, well aside from sweeping it!!!  In fact, I don’t know if the concrete has ever been cleaned since it was poured to make our back patio.  (I didn’t own the house then!)

Pressure Washers ROCK!

First, let me say that when dry, the concrete did NOT look that gross.  I had no idea it was THAT nasty until my brother started using the pressure washer.  Here is what it looked like before he started officially washing it.  Yes, you could see a bit of green mildew and of course there was pollen everywhere!

Pressure Washer and Quilting Class May 2014 001

And as the process continued:

Pressure Washer and Quilting Class May 2014 002

Overall the project is pretty easy.  You just hook a garden hose into the pressure washer, turn it on and go to town.  However, we did budget extra on the water bill for it this month.  You also have to be mindful of water pooling while you are working.  It also works best in teeny tiny rows for maximum cleaning power, so it is time consuming,  and of course you get a bit wet while doing the work.  I think it was well worth it!

 

Pressure Washer and Quilting Class May 2014 008

 

All the concrete looks so much better.  Now, if I could just find a way to use one in the house!

Tell me how pressure washers have worked for you!  Do you own one, borrow, or rent a washer when you use it?

Author: Jill Stewart

I am a 37 -year-old woman from Arkansas who is happily married to a Scottish immigrant aka “the hubby” “the hubs” or if I am calling him directly “YO YOU!” We’ve been married for 3 years and it’s been a crazy ride, and unfortunately our finances have been beat to death in the last few years. We have two dogs and a cat, no kids. The Blog- What’ll you find: Financial Information as we try to become debt free My attempts at working and trying to maintain a home to the standards I like My adventures in learning how to sew Arts and craft projects Funny tidbits from my life including living with a Scottish person, the dogs, and other oddball things that happen to me. What you won’t find: Much on children. I don’t have kids and I can’t have kids. Recipes- I don’t mind cooking, but unless it’s something really special, don’t come here looking for the weekly recipe! You won’t find it- unless you ask my husband. If you’re interested in what you see, please follow me on Facebook or sign up for emails! Most of all, leave a comment or ask a question! I am always happy to hear from you!

2 thoughts on “Pressure Washers Rock!

  1. This post made me think of my Dad. He designed and built 2 of the 3 homes we grew up in and they both had amazing amounts of concrete! They had big front porches, sidewalks and huge back patios! The sidewalks and patios were surrounded by flower beds and flowering trees {all supposedly being my mother’s domain}. During the summer Dad would be out with his power washer cleaning all the concrete and the house, but I think it was all just a manly guise to water the flowers he wouldn’t admit to loving! Every week he would be out there with his power washer and if us kids got close enough he would power wash us too! It stung like crazy but it was fun! He would always act like he wasn’t paying attention to us but the second we got in range we were hosed! It was great fun taunting him and the other kids, seeing who could get the closest or who was the sneakiest!

Leave a Reply

