31 Day No Spending Challenge Week 3

7 Comments

Week 2

Week 3

The concept behind this post is from Ruth at Living Well Spending Less. Please visit her blog for the details!

Week 3 is finished!  It seems to have gone a lot more smoothly than week 2.  We only broke the no spend rule once, yesterday, to grab some cheap dinner.  Unfortunately, my hubby had a whopping headache and I was starving!  We were out of quick to prepare stuff and  bread so…dinner it was.  However, we did not spend another penny over our no spend for the week, not even for the razors he wanted…whoops, I forgot those at the store today, so I feel like we did pretty darn good.  Especially in comparison to last week.

We also managed to start our emergency fund!  FINALLY!!!  We transferred $150.00 to savings this week.  Tomorrow is my payday, so hopefully we will be able to tuck away at least that much again and really start digging in to that emergency fund!

There is good news and bad news about our health insurance!  The good news is it starts June 1.  The bad news is they started charging us for it this month to “get us ahead” on it.  Personally, I find that kind of a pile of BS, but we need it, so I am going to try to just be grateful to have it.  Additionally, when the insurance actually kicks in, my work will reimburse me $200.00 a month since my husband carries me on his benefits.  The BEST news is my husband’s paycheck is A LOT more at this job than I originally budgeted, so even with insurance coming out we will be much farther ahead than I anticipated in the next few weeks!

I think I was truthfully starting to feel a bit of despair over our finances.  I guess to make it understood why I was feeling really crappy about it, I have to tell it all.  You see, Dave Ramsey tells us over and over not to go into debt.  He tells you just to work more, get another job, find a way to make more money.  Well, that’s fine and dandy for some, but I commute 30 miles each way to work as it is.  We have 1 car and I have to take my husband to work every morning.  He catches a ride home.  We live in a town with 16k people, so it’s not exactly like there is a huge market for after normal hours work, AND those that are around want you there by 5.  Well, he can’t get there by 5 and neither can I!  To make it more exciting, my car is truly on its last leg and the windshield has a major spider web crack in it from a tree branch that hit it at Christmas (Mortifying to me).  Did I mention that we also need a new roof AND the Central AC unit is our home IS TOASTED?  Along with debt, we have another estimated $8-10k in future repairs that need to be made.  It’s a tad bit frustrating, but I know it’s a mess I created long before my current hubby came along, and luckily he is game to work through it.

We set out at the beginning of the year with the goal in mind to be debt free by the end of the year.  While I am not 100% sure that’s going to happen, I can finally see some progress.  At least I know we’re putting some money back so when my 2000 Plymouth kicks the bucket there will hopefully be something there to replace it.  I’m seeing the light at the end of the tunnel, I’m just trying to be patient while we travel towards it.  It’s a marathon and we’re running in it!

 

Did you accomplish any major financial goals this month? Did you set any new ones?

Author: Jill Stewart

I am a 37 -year-old woman from Arkansas who is happily married to a Scottish immigrant aka “the hubby” “the hubs” or if I am calling him directly “YO YOU!” We’ve been married for 3 years and it’s been a crazy ride, and unfortunately our finances have been beat to death in the last few years. We have two dogs and a cat, no kids. The Blog- What’ll you find: Financial Information as we try to become debt free My attempts at working and trying to maintain a home to the standards I like My adventures in learning how to sew Arts and craft projects Funny tidbits from my life including living with a Scottish person, the dogs, and other oddball things that happen to me. What you won’t find: Much on children. I don’t have kids and I can’t have kids. Recipes- I don’t mind cooking, but unless it’s something really special, don’t come here looking for the weekly recipe! You won’t find it- unless you ask my husband. If you’re interested in what you see, please follow me on Facebook or sign up for emails! Most of all, leave a comment or ask a question! I am always happy to hear from you!

7 thoughts on “31 Day No Spending Challenge Week 3

  1. You are making progress that’s so good! That is very strange to me that they pulled your insurance money out early… Ok less strange more annoying!!! It sounds like you are headed in the right direction!

  2. But on a bright note, you are still making the no spending thing work for you this month and you have managed to put money in your emergency fund! I’m delighted for you!

  3. Pingback: Making Do and Pinching Pennies | Life in the Orchard

  4. Pingback: Making Do and Pinching Pennies

Leave a Reply

