Neti Pot 101 and How it’s Saved Me Money!

5 Comments

It would probably surprise you to know that if I had to name one thing I absolutely hate about myself it’s ALLERGIES.  Let me give you a brief run down:

Perfume

Tree Pollen

Grass Pollen

Ok, to save room, let’s just say POLLEN

Mold

Dust

Dust Mites

Mildew

Mild dog and cat allergies.  I deal with them.

Garlic, yes, I am a vampire.  🙂

There are more, and aside from garlic I am lucky not to have any of the major food allergies.  However, pollen season or any time I have to dust etc. are absolute nightmares for me!  However, a few years ago a friend mentioned the words Neti Pot to me.  I had never heard of one and had no idea what it was.  So after some research I laughed and laughed about how I absolutely was not going to stick something up my nose, and intentionally get WATER in my nose to supposedly help with allergies.  Until the day I did.  I was sick and tired of sinus infections all the time and all the junk that comes with them!

Let’s just be blunt.  Ladies, we all know what happens when you take strong antibiotics.  YOU KNOW what I mean.  YOU KNOW it itches.  YOU KNOW it’s miserable.  Imagine having to go through it 3-4 times a year.  Not to mention, I HATE taking pills and I certainly don’t want to have to inject stuff into my girly bits everyday.  Not to mention, it’s expensive!  Let me give you a cost breakdown just for an average:

$20.00 copay to the doctor

$5-10 for antibiotics

$25.00 or so for prescription yeast infection medication or $15-20 for over the counter medication

That’s if you have health insurance.  The last time I had a sinus infection it was:

$65.00 to go to a Nursing Practioner

$$10.00 for antibiotics

$70.00 for a nasal wash- that I did not purchase

$0.00 for yeast infection medication which I am sure is due to my new found love of Greek Yogurt

So, in all anywhere between $45.00 and $145.00 to resolve a sinus problem!  However, my neti pot cost me about $10.00 at Walgreens.  In addition to saving money by avoiding the doctor, I am also not constantly taking over the counter allergy medications!

Neti Pot

Neti Pot 101

A neti pot is a simple plastic device (think Aladdin’s Lamp) that you fill with a mixture of water and saline solution.

After a quick stir, you insert one end into your nostril and tilt your head.  You also have to open your mouth to breathe.  It’s all very attractive.

The solution will run into your sinus cavity and come out the other side of your nose.  You stand over a sink and let it drain into the sink.

Once the pot is empty you gently blow your nose.  DONE.

 

First, it doesn’t hurt or sting like getting water up your nose.  As long as you have the water close to your own body temperature, it’s unlikely you will feel anything at all, except relief.  Yes, sometimes gross things happen, but once you get the hang of it, it’s unlikely you will have those kinds of problems.  You’re very likely to feel relief for any kind of sinus problems immediately!  A Neti Pot has helped me with the following:

Dry or bleeding sinuses.  The saline solution moisturizes your sinuses.

Clogged sinuses- without taking addictive medications!

Minor infections

Removing dirt and grime from outside air after mowing etc.

Relieving sinus pressure or headaches

I used to be in the doctor’s office 2-4 times a year for sinus infections.  It was a constant battle for me.  Since I started using a Neti Pot I’ve only been once a year- maybe even less than that!  They really are life changing when you constantly struggle from allergies.  If you’ve never tried one out, please give it a chance.  Of everyone I know who has tried it, only one person hasn’t cared for it, and she HATES anything going up her nose.  Even she would tell you it doesn’t hurt!

 

Have you ever tried a Neti Pot?  What did you think?


 

Author: Jill Stewart

I am a 37 -year-old woman from Arkansas who is happily married to a Scottish immigrant aka “the hubby” “the hubs” or if I am calling him directly “YO YOU!” We’ve been married for 3 years and it’s been a crazy ride, and unfortunately our finances have been beat to death in the last few years. We have two dogs and a cat, no kids. The Blog- What’ll you find: Financial Information as we try to become debt free My attempts at working and trying to maintain a home to the standards I like My adventures in learning how to sew Arts and craft projects Funny tidbits from my life including living with a Scottish person, the dogs, and other oddball things that happen to me. What you won’t find: Much on children. I don’t have kids and I can’t have kids. Recipes- I don’t mind cooking, but unless it’s something really special, don’t come here looking for the weekly recipe! You won’t find it- unless you ask my husband. If you’re interested in what you see, please follow me on Facebook or sign up for emails! Most of all, leave a comment or ask a question! I am always happy to hear from you!

5 thoughts on “Neti Pot 101 and How it’s Saved Me Money!

  1. I’ve been dealing with allergies lately so this is a very welcome post, and I should definitely try using a Neti Pot!

    Thanks for sharing at Wow Me Wednesday!

  2. Pingback: Saturday's Pick Six - Thrifty T's Treasures

  3. Pingback: Wow Me Wednesday | Week 4 - Thrifty T's Treasures

Leave a Reply

