Art Class

8 Comments

Free Art Class

 

When you’re living your month as a No Spend Month, you have to find ways to entertain yourself without any, or very little cost involved.  My friend, Tammy, and I have been going to the local library for some time and taking free art classes there.  She is a great artist, me, not so much.  Tammy has referred to my art style as Folk Art.  I like to pretend my art is more Impressionism.

Unfortunately, due to scheduling conflicts on my part when my husband worked another job, and a vacation/surgery for Tammy, we have been unable to attend class since before Christmas!  Needless to say, we’ve both been itching to get back to class, especially Tammy!  She is pretty darn good at the whole art thing, whereas, I do enjoy it, but it’s fair to say my artistic talents fall into the musical spectrum far more than painting.  However, I also think it’s fair to say after watching a ton of videos on YouTube, I have gotten significantly better!

The method we use for class is:

1.  Our instructor gives us 1 print or allows us to choose from several prints that are in Black and White copies.

I obviously did not make this original painting.  If anyone knows who the artist is, please let me know so I can give appropriate credit.  The information was not given to us in class.

I obviously did not make this original painting. If anyone knows who the artist is, please let me know so I can give appropriate credit. The information was not given to us in class.

2.  We flip over the black and white copy color the entire back of the page black to leave graphite behind.  We then flip the page back over and trace the painting.  No free hand drawing!  YAY!

Rooster Back

Not sure why there is a blue blob in the middle.  Yay for weird lighting issues!

Not sure why there is a blue blob in the middle. Yay for weird lighting issues!

3.  Once everything is traced, if there is a particular style she is trying to teach us, she gives us a few examples and starts us on the technique.

4.  She bravely turns us loose with whatever medium we’re using for the night.  Most of the time it’s Watercolor, however, we have used Pastels and Acrylic paint as well.  We’ve even used Tissue Paper for a different technique.  I HATED that one and never finished it.

Although we have had a few projects that made me think I would rather cut off my hand than ever go back and do that style again, I think I’ve improved over time and look forward to getting back into the grove and experimenting again!  Here is the progress I have made so far!

Aspen Trees- Masking technique with Watercolor- First Painting and First Class

Aspens by Jill Stewart

Practicing with Oil Pastels for the first time at home and learning to blend, freehand

 

Oil Pastel Experimentation by Jill Stewart

Impressionistic pastel landscape, 2-3 lessons later

 

Pastels by Jill Stewart

Free hand pastel practice for blending colors and some highlighting

 

Pastel Eye by Jill Stewart

Acrylic painting about 5-6 lessons- Unfinished

 

Acryllic Paints by Jill Stewart

Free hand watercolor at home.  This was inspired by an oil painting someone did on Youtube.

 

Watercolor Sunset by Jill Stewart

Painting on 5-8-14- Acrylic Paint on canvas!  First time on actual canvas!

Rooster Basecoat

Added a white base coat

Adding some base coat colors for shading.

Adding some base coat colors for shading.

Working through the shaded spots and getting the background prepped for all the crazy colors I'll add later.

Working through the shaded spots and getting the background prepped for all the crazy colors I’ll add later.

I had Tammy take mine to her house because I didn’t have nearly enough time to finish it that week.  I do not have acrylic paints here, but she does, so I’ll go over there on a weekend and work on finishing it up.  I also had to work on oddball spots because I kept sticking my arm in wet paint.  GRRRRR!

 

Have you ever taken any art classes?  What is your favorite way to do art? Have you considered teaching a free class at your local library?

 

 

Author: Jill Stewart

I am a 37 -year-old woman from Arkansas who is happily married to a Scottish immigrant aka “the hubby” “the hubs” or if I am calling him directly “YO YOU!” We’ve been married for 3 years and it’s been a crazy ride, and unfortunately our finances have been beat to death in the last few years. We have two dogs and a cat, no kids. The Blog- What’ll you find: Financial Information as we try to become debt free My attempts at working and trying to maintain a home to the standards I like My adventures in learning how to sew Arts and craft projects Funny tidbits from my life including living with a Scottish person, the dogs, and other oddball things that happen to me. What you won’t find: Much on children. I don’t have kids and I can’t have kids. Recipes- I don’t mind cooking, but unless it’s something really special, don’t come here looking for the weekly recipe! You won’t find it- unless you ask my husband. If you’re interested in what you see, please follow me on Facebook or sign up for emails! Most of all, leave a comment or ask a question! I am always happy to hear from you!

8 thoughts on “Art Class

  1. That sounds s fun! My little library doesn’t offer anything like that I am jealous!

    • Ok, I don’t know what the heck my original comment back said, but it was awful. Let me try that again.

      All of the people who teach the classes seem to have honed the skills on their own. Then they work with the library to make a budget and the library helps pay for some of it. Like the art classes. However, when I go to the quilting class on Saturday, I have to bring my own materials and machine etc.

      Maybe you should teach a class once on month on things you craft really well!

  2. The library here is huge enough tp have its own cafe, so I’m sure they do classes as well. We keep meaning to go in, but haven’t yet. We actually have no excuse, since Sean’s sister lives literally next door.

  3. I don’t know if your town has a Chick-Fil-A, but during the school year, every Monday night, between 8:30-9:30, they have BINGO, for a chance to win free food and some prizes.

Leave a Reply

