Quilting 101 Class

9 Comments

One of my goals this year is to find something that is for me and to learn a new hobby.  I generally enjoy crafting, but get tired of all the supplies required for so many projects out there.  A few years ago, my friend, Tammy, gave me a sewing machine for my birthday because it was something I was very interested in learning and hers was possessed by Gremlins.  Slowly, I have been learning to sew.

When I saw a local library was holding a FREE Quilting 101 class last Saturday, we signed right up.  I am hoping to make a few quilts for Christmas as gifts, but wanted to learn from someone with more experience.  Tammy has never quilted either, she always made garments, so it was something new and exciting for her too!  They had stacks of books ready to go for us to look through and a very nice Powerpoint presentation.

Quilting Books From the Library

The class was 4 hours long and we went over the history of quilting.  Back in the day, quilting was done out of necessity for blankets.  The women would all gather together at one home and spend weeks quilting blankets for all the families.  The women who were not so great at sewing and quilting cooked and took care of the ladies who were actually making warm blankets for their families.

Quilting 101 Class

We learned a lot of quilting vocabulary like a quilt sandwiches, basting, and saw examples of different kinds of quilts.  We also learned about quilt care and different ways to prep fabric before sewing a quilt.  We also watched several tutorials on quilt binding (making a pretty edge all around the outside).  Like the photo below.

Quilt Crazy Quilt Binding

The best part about the class is it turns out it’s a series.  We’re actually going to have a quilting bee.  In 2 weeks we’re going to make a quilt like the one in the photo above.  It’s called a crazy quilt and if you notice, the blocks are not all nice in neat in your typical quilting rows.  Here is a photo of the back to give you a clear idea what the quilt will look like.

Quilt Back

This is a no spend month for me, so I was really disappointed at first that I wouldn’t be able to participate in the class due to the supply list.  However, it turns out I got really lucky because I bought several fat quarters to use for future quilts and I had the EXACT number I would need for the quilt and the other supplies are already in my stash!  WOOHOO!  I am super excited to get to participate in this and even more excited that I know I am going to be able to make an awesome gift for someone who always stumps me when it comes to gift giving.  Unknown to her, she just confirmed how much she liked this quilt this evening.  *insert maniacal laughter*

 

Have you ever been to a quilting bee?  Do you like quilting?  Do you have any tips or favorite quilt styles?

Author: Jill Stewart

I am a 37 -year-old woman from Arkansas who is happily married to a Scottish immigrant aka “the hubby” “the hubs” or if I am calling him directly “YO YOU!” We’ve been married for 3 years and it’s been a crazy ride, and unfortunately our finances have been beat to death in the last few years. We have two dogs and a cat, no kids. The Blog- What’ll you find: Financial Information as we try to become debt free My attempts at working and trying to maintain a home to the standards I like My adventures in learning how to sew Arts and craft projects Funny tidbits from my life including living with a Scottish person, the dogs, and other oddball things that happen to me. What you won’t find: Much on children. I don’t have kids and I can’t have kids. Recipes- I don’t mind cooking, but unless it’s something really special, don’t come here looking for the weekly recipe! You won’t find it- unless you ask my husband. If you’re interested in what you see, please follow me on Facebook or sign up for emails! Most of all, leave a comment or ask a question! I am always happy to hear from you!

9 thoughts on “Quilting 101 Class

  1. I love that red quilt. I have quilted but only very basic square quilts. I usually try to stick to baby blankets because my attention span wont last long enough to finish a full size quilt. I can finish a baby quilt in about an hour and a half, that’s the kind of time frame I need for a project. My favorite part of quilting is piking out the material but it takes me a REALLY long time!

    • The instructor swears that the quilt only takes a few hours. It’s a 9 square quilt, so we’ll see since a lot of it is already precut!

      That quilt was so pretty. It was made for her daughter by an Aunt who had passed away!

      I think what I like about making quilt tops so far, is the actual top is not that pricey…the rest of it can get a bit expensive though!

      • Paying to get it quilted is outrageous. I know its a lot of work and the machines can get costly to so its understandable. I usually just tie my quilt and backing together 🙂 I am old school and cheap like that!

      • You can do it with a machine at home. The teeth on the bottom of your machine have to drop out though. I’m not going to start with any kind of fancy designs or anything, I’m going for straight lines!

      • This is what my grandma usually does I just haven’t had the courage to try. I am afraid I am going to ruin my quilt!

  2. I can’t wait to see what you come up with!

  3. Glad you made this post! I hadn’t gotten us registered for the class yet. We are good to go now though. I’m so excited, I can hardly wait!

Leave a Reply

