31 Days of No Spending Challenge has Commenced!

11 Comments

31 Days of Zero Spending

This post is NOT my original idea.  Please check out Living Well Spending Less for all of the guidelines for this challenge!

It’s here!  The big month where my husband and I take on a monumental financial challenge!  The necessary supplies have been stocked and we’re raring to go!  So far, it’s super easy! *wink wink*.

Tomorrow, my friend Tammy and I are going to go to a class at the local library called Quilting 101.  I’m hoping it’s not someone just showing us every kind of quilting block we can make.    Regardless, it’s free and I am super excited to see what we learn.  It says no supplies are required, so here’s to hoping that works out!  I certainly don’t have any supplies lying around except for another Jelly Roll quilt, that I plan on using for a future tutorial.  Tammy and I also attend an art class there on a monthly basis that is free.  Neither of us have been able to make it there for quite some time, but we’re looking forward to going this month.  I also found several local history classes there, including the evolution of eating out in our area.  That one might be interesting!

I am so incredibly excited to see what this month brings for us financially.  This is our last month of not having to pay health insurance premiums again, so we should have a good chance at really digging in to our savings account and digging into debt.  My husband will receive his paycheck 3 times this month as well, so that makes it even more exciting!  I love those extra paycheck months!  I am also planning on couponing, but only FREE items.  Maybe this will allow me to start enjoying shopping in a healthier way again.

Hopefully, the spring time weather, excluding the nasty storms we get, will allow us to be outside quite a bit more as well.  I have absolutely LOVED how our yard looks since we all worked so hard on getting it nice.  Doing physical labor will also help sweat out nicotine, and of course it’s good for me to be less sedentary, so here’s to hoping it’s not miserably hot or humid during the times we have to work on the yard.  The extra day light is great for getting things done, so it will be interesting to see how much of a war I can rage on our home!

I would love to have some people join us for this awesome challenge!  If it goes well, we might just do it every other month and see how it changes our life!  If you’re interested, let me know, make sure to follow me and link to your site where all of us can follow back!  I hope you’ll give it a try!

You can find general guidelines on how to do a No Spend Month here.

 

 

Author: Jill Stewart

I am a 37 -year-old woman from Arkansas who is happily married to a Scottish immigrant aka “the hubby” “the hubs” or if I am calling him directly “YO YOU!” We’ve been married for 3 years and it’s been a crazy ride, and unfortunately our finances have been beat to death in the last few years. We have two dogs and a cat, no kids. The Blog- What’ll you find: Financial Information as we try to become debt free My attempts at working and trying to maintain a home to the standards I like My adventures in learning how to sew Arts and craft projects Funny tidbits from my life including living with a Scottish person, the dogs, and other oddball things that happen to me. What you won’t find: Much on children. I don’t have kids and I can’t have kids. Recipes- I don’t mind cooking, but unless it’s something really special, don’t come here looking for the weekly recipe! You won’t find it- unless you ask my husband. If you’re interested in what you see, please follow me on Facebook or sign up for emails! Most of all, leave a comment or ask a question! I am always happy to hear from you!

11 thoughts on “31 Days of No Spending Challenge has Commenced!

  1. Good luck with your challenge!

  2. I already failed…We had a family emergency and have been living at a hospital so maybe next week I might jump on board! I am so excited to hear about your progress. I wish my library would offer quilting classes HOW FUN!!!

  3. So have you started working on the project you are blaming on me? Don’t want to say what it is in case you know who reads this.

  4. Good luck…please let us know how it went.

Leave a Reply

