Nox

5 Comments

We had some NASTY storms here in Arkansas on Sunday night.  The kind of nasty that means my awesome hubby was outside in the cold rain trying to figure out why our sump pump wasn’t working and our bedroom was flooding…at MIDNIGHT.  I was in the car…uhhhh… directing the headlights!  Sure, that’s what I’ll call it!  Around 12:30 am he finally was able to get the damn thing working right and the water level went down!  Needless to say, it was a flash flood kind night for us.

I went to work the next day and almost as soon as I sat down as my desk I heard it.  A cat yowling.  I do mean YOWLING.  It sounded like it was coming from the back of our office, but a co-worker didn’t mention it when she came in through that door, so I just kind of ignored it. About 30 minutes later I heard it again.  Finally, I asked if I was crazy or if anyone else heard the cat?!  We went out back to look for it, and sure enough, there was a lonely kitten under our air conditioning unit.  He was soaked!  We’re guessing he was either washed away from his momma or she moved them due to the flooding and he got away from her.

My co-worker grabbed the broom and shoo’ed him out from under the AC unit, and he darted into our office.  I caught him, and good grief he was TINY.    I was absolutely shocked, but he let me pick him up and hold him.  If he actually sits still, he can sit on the palm of my hand.  We had to keep him in the bathroom because the little stinker could jump out of the box!  I sent my hubby a text to let him know we found the cat and if no one was going to take him, I was bringing him home and would give him away.  His answer:  NO, I want him! And DIBBS on naming him.

By lunchtime I figured the little guy was starving, and his bathroom wailing was annoying everyone, so I picked him up some milk replacement and a little bottle to feed him.  Poor guy was so hungry he chewed the nipple off of the bottle trying to get the milk out faster.  At the end of my lunch hour he was crawling on my shoulders, playing in my hair and happily purring away.  By the end of the day he was following me around the office on his own.

After a loud YOWLING drive home (someone doesn’t like being stuck in a box), we finally got him in the door and gave him some time to eat.  Poor little guy was insanely hungry.  We set up the old puppy pen, gave him an old blanket, set up a teeny tiny litter box and started getting him used to our home.  He’s old enough to use the litter box on his own, (and did it LIKE A CHAMP!!!)  so we know he is at least 3 weeks old, but we will have to work on weaning him.

He promptly hissed at our 60 lb dog and smacked her nose.  He’s probably all of 2 lbs and already trying to run this place.  He’s a little more tolerant of our smaller dog, but if he gets startled he smacks at him too.  Honestly, I find it freaking adorable!  We named him Nox.  My husband and I are both Harry Potter fans and it’s a spell in the book series that turns out lights.  Since he is grey in color, we both thought it was a great name.

There is something just so awesome and fulfilling about rescuing a stray and I’m glad we’re keeping this one.

Nox

Author: Jill Stewart

I am a 37 -year-old woman from Arkansas who is happily married to a Scottish immigrant aka “the hubby” “the hubs” or if I am calling him directly “YO YOU!” We’ve been married for 3 years and it’s been a crazy ride, and unfortunately our finances have been beat to death in the last few years. We have two dogs and a cat, no kids. The Blog- What’ll you find: Financial Information as we try to become debt free My attempts at working and trying to maintain a home to the standards I like My adventures in learning how to sew Arts and craft projects Funny tidbits from my life including living with a Scottish person, the dogs, and other oddball things that happen to me. What you won’t find: Much on children. I don’t have kids and I can’t have kids. Recipes- I don’t mind cooking, but unless it’s something really special, don’t come here looking for the weekly recipe! You won’t find it- unless you ask my husband. If you’re interested in what you see, please follow me on Facebook or sign up for emails! Most of all, leave a comment or ask a question! I am always happy to hear from you!

5 thoughts on “Nox

  1. What a day-brightening story! The kitten is absolutely adorable.

  2. Knowing your husband, this doesn’t surprise me. What a cute story and an adorable kitty!

Leave a Reply

