It’s time to mend some wheels…

8 Comments

I started this updated version of this blog in January of this year.  I’ve said before, I blogged some time ago on Xanga, and my life at the time was just not in a good enough place for me to continue blogging.  I was in a rut.  I hated my job, I was fed up with waiting on my (then) fiance to move here from Scotland and the very costly and time-consuming process for immigration.

It is time to change some things this year.  It is time to really work on getting my stuff together and stop making excuses, especially those involving people no longer in my life, and move forward into the person I want to be.  While it wasn’t a New Year resolution per se, I set myself some goals to make some changes.  I’ve made some one of them with relative ease, working on our finances.  If I’m being totally honest, that change was due more to force and my husband losing his job more than a 100% heartfelt desire to get it done.  There is still room for improvement, but I am trying not to work myself up over it too much.

The rest of the goals are:

Learning to sew

Getting my house clean and keeping it that way

Losing weight and keeping it off

Empowering myself and getting some solid self-confidence back

Getting out a bit more

So far, I have started learning how to sew.  It’s certainly an exercise in patience for me, but I REALLY want to do it.  BAD.  I also really want to get a certain project finished that I have hinted about here.  The sad thing is, I probably only have an hour or two worth of work left on it.  OK.  I’m getting it finished this week.

Getting my house clean is a never-ending battle.  I could make 50 million excuses for it, but in truth there are 2 reasons why I struggle with getting my house clean.

1.  I’m very overweight.  As someone who was an athlete in her youth, it’s frustrating not to be able to have a 4-5 hour cleaning marathon like I used to be able to do.  Most of all, I deal with a crap ton of pain due to an old back sprain.  I simply cannot lift 5 loads of laundry in a day…well, not in a decent time frame.  I can’t sweep the whole house and mop the floors in an hour anymore, and it’s frustrating.  I either have to spread things out all day long to get them completed or do what I can and say, well, tomorrow is a new day.

2.  Any work I do is constantly undone.  It’s insane.  We don’t have kids.  People rarely come over to our home, so my husband and I have no one else to blame.  For me, spending an hour or two in complete agony and having it all undone 2 days later has literally left me in tears.  I’m frustrated and fed up.  I don’t know how to stop it.  Worse than that, when I get annoyed I just stop fighting the battle and everything gets unmanageable.

Thoughts?  HELP???!!!

The weight loss battle is equally frustrating.  I do have PCOS so, that IS part of it.  I have tried everything out there.  Weight Watchers more than once, the 50 Million Lb Challenge, versions of Atkins…you name it.  If I stray from the “diet” at all, anything I have lost comes right back.  I ‘ve found the D.A.S.H. plan, and I think this change in our eating habits and mentality are going to be good both for me, and my husband, who is a full-blown diabetic.  It’s related to salt intake and trying to make yourself more heart healthy.  This is a good thing for both my husband and me because PCOS and Diabetes can cause heart issues.

Empowerment and self-confidence I think will come with exercise and losing weight.  Right now, I truly struggle with going out in public.  It’s an awful mentality to have, but I wonder if people are looking at me as the fat chick in the store.  I wonder if they look in my grocery cart and pick out the few items that are not 100% healthy and judge me based on what they see. (Let me tell you, I did read another post from a blogger who mentioned she has behaved that way in a store.  It made me sick to have that suspicion confirmed.)  I wonder if they think I am eating 6 burgers in my car and going home to have dinner.  I’m NOT for the record, in fact, my husband who weighs in at a whopping 156 pounds eats twice what I eat.  On a bright note, I know that if I start using my recumbent exercise bike and my Kinect exercise games again I will get back into good enough shape to do some hiking this spring, which is something my husband, I, AND the doggies love!  I don’t mind being the fat chick on the hiking trail!  At least they know I’m getting exercise then!  HA!  We also always end them with nice picnics, so it’s something we enjoy.  Arkansas has a TON of State Parks, so there is no lack of hiking around here.

I think getting out a bit more will happen with confidence.  I am naturally an introvert, but right now I am living more like a hermit.  I do really want to work on finding some inexpensive and creative ways for us to get out a bit more.  Especially since it’s spring and summer.  It’s kind of silly, but I want a TAN this year…on both arms.  Usually, the only arm that tans is the one closest to the car window…and it’s a noticeable difference.  Seriously…If I hold my hands up together in the summer you can see a visible difference between my left and right arms and then there are my poor legs.

The difference in the skin tons between my arm that gets sun on the way to and from work and my legs. :(

The difference in the skin tones between my arm that gets sun on the way to and from work and my legs. 😦

Also, my hand is not freakishly large.  I can’t palm basketballs.  I promise.

 

I would really love some help getting those wheels rolling.  If anyone has any ideas or tips, I would love to hear them.  Keep in mind, I do have a full-time job too, so balancing all of it, get really hectic.  Simple is better for me!

Jill

 

Author: Jill Stewart

I am a 37 -year-old woman from Arkansas who is happily married to a Scottish immigrant aka “the hubby” “the hubs” or if I am calling him directly “YO YOU!” We’ve been married for 3 years and it’s been a crazy ride, and unfortunately our finances have been beat to death in the last few years. We have two dogs and a cat, no kids. The Blog- What’ll you find: Financial Information as we try to become debt free My attempts at working and trying to maintain a home to the standards I like My adventures in learning how to sew Arts and craft projects Funny tidbits from my life including living with a Scottish person, the dogs, and other oddball things that happen to me. What you won’t find: Much on children. I don’t have kids and I can’t have kids. Recipes- I don’t mind cooking, but unless it’s something really special, don’t come here looking for the weekly recipe! You won’t find it- unless you ask my husband. If you’re interested in what you see, please follow me on Facebook or sign up for emails! Most of all, leave a comment or ask a question! I am always happy to hear from you!

8 thoughts on “It’s time to mend some wheels…

  1. First don’t be so hard on yourself with the cleaning… it is a losing battle! lol. Second, try jergens natural glow lotion. I can get a natural tan on my white legs in a week. Lastly, when I am feeling like an introvert I have to make myself call my girlfriends and get out. It helps so much. Its like if I am feeling the blues and I sulk in it, my blues get worse. I have been trying to get out and take more walks and bike rides. Fresh air always helps me get moving.

    If someone is looking at you and judging that is THEIR issue not yours! The only peoples opinions I care about these days are the people closest to me. Everyone else can kiss my ass. Surround yourself with some good people and just keep working on your goals. I know no one likes to be seen in a bathing suit but are there any ladies swim classes near you? That is a great way to get exercise without it being to hard on the body.

    • The only place that has swim classes is always jam packed. I AM going to start riding my bike again though. I also found an adult tricycle I have my eye on. That way I can ride and exercise my crazy dog and Pip can sit in a basket in the back. Ha!

      Thank you for beig inspiring. I try NOT to let people bother me, but it is a confidence issue. Most of the time I am ok, but I have my moments with it. 🙂

      • We all have our moments that’s for sure. I have been loving bike riding lately the weather has been great. That tricycle would be great get everybody out! I would love to see a picture of that!

      • Well, I haven’t bought a bike yet, but if you search for adult tricycles, I think it came up on the good ole Wal-Mart website. They run about $200.00. O.O

  2. I’m sure I’d love to help with some tips for these goals, especially with the sewing. That’s a long road you’ve set for yourself, but the main thing to struggle with is staying motivated and keep working on them. Baby steps will help! If you can accomplish a small win, it still feels like a WIN! Whereas failing at a big milestone feels like a big fail. Better to set the bar low at first, and then get a run up as you gain confidence.

    With weight gain I can’t offer much advice from experience. I’ve always struggled with low weight, and breast feeding took me back to skin and bone. My lifestyle (almost vegetarian frugal grow-my-own) means I don’t eat much processed food and this makes a BIG difference when I’m trying to out on weight (ie. I find it really hard to out on weight when I don’t eat processed foods!). I had pregnancy diabetes with my third pregnancy and adopting a diabetes diet meant I lost a lot of weight.

    So maybe there might be something I can help with (recipes from scratch, small portion snacks etc) … Just keep on asking and someone will come up with something!

    Gardening is a good low impact exercise that can be easier on your back (and hard too for some tasks!). Strolling about checking your plants, hand watering and picking out weeds is surprisingly good exercise. If you avoid a lot of bending and hard digging you can get some air into your lungs in your own space (if you have some) without other people’s eyes watching you. And you will love eating your own misshapen veggies, if you choose to grow them!

    Take support from the people around you and know that you can do it! We can help. 🙂

    • Hmmm. You’re the second person TODAY who has said that those are long goals. I certainly thought of the weight loss as being a long term goal. You wouldn’t think that getting a house clean and keeping it clean are horribly difficult, but maybe I am expecting too much! Sewing is certainly something I knew would take awhile and I am ok with that! I look forward to some tips!

      My hubby and I are considering the DASH plan. It will cut out most, if not almost all, processed foods because of the salt content. American processed foods have an insane amount of salt in them. Some items have a full daily serving! I’m not sure what it looks like from your neck of the woods, but I noticed in Scotland there was hardly salt in ANYTHING. I had no issues with water retention or anything the whole time I was there, so I am fairly certain it’s a good way to go!

      I found a plan to make a 4ft x 4ft raised garden. I think it is something I would certainly like to try, but I think anything bigger than that this year would be very overwhelming to me on TOP of everything else going on. Plus…mosquitos suck. Literally. 😀

      I’ve seen some of the snacks you pack for your kiddos and a lot of them are good ideas and look great. I generally take my lunch and breakfast to work, so I am good with any new suggestions you might have. Just a heads up though, I am NOT a big fruit eater. I like melons and apples. Aside from that, I am a veggie girl!

      Thank you for your comment and offering suggestions. I really appreciate it!

      • Actually, eating fruit is not as healthy as it may seem! Here is Australia they recommend seven serves of vegetable per day, two of them as fruit. But basically, if you switch out the fruit for other veggies, it’s even better, as fruits are full of sugars and are higher GI. So as long as you are getting a good variety, you will get plenty of vitamin C from your veg. 🙂

        A raised garden sounds perfect. Not as much bending, and easier to control the drainage! Also easier to dig. Google “no-dig” or “lasagne layer” gardens for ideas on filling the bed without having to do lots of digging.

        The cleaning thing is a long goal just because there is an amazing amount of stuff to clean in a house. I’m still getting the hang of it! But don’t be intimidated: take one thing at a time. Here’s a tip: do you tidy more when you have guests over? Maybe you should try a blog challenge to clean something specific (eg. one cupboard door in your kitchen) for a certain date, and show us a photo on that day. If you announce it before hand, it helps motivate you to get it done! Then it’s one down, and we will all be kind and congratulative 🙂

  3. I don’t know if you like exercise videos or anything of that sort, but I just learned about Daily Burn. They are offering a 30 day free trial right now. You can answer some questions about how experienced you are, how you want to end up looking and feeling, and they will suggest you a series of programs (and a trainer to go with them). There’s also a free app for your phone that helps track your nutrition, exercise, and weight. I haven’t actually tried it yet, but I’m seriously considering it.

Leave a Reply

