Get Out of Debt Blogger vs. The Perfect Finance Blogger

7 Comments

There has been nothing more inspiring and more frustrating to me than reading other finance blogs.  I love the community and support groups out there for people who are really working at becoming debt free.  I don’t care what method you use.  It can be Dave Ramsey, or Suze Orman or Billyjo Bob’s blog, if the method works for you, that is GREAT.  IF IT WORKS FOR YOU.

However, far too often I see so many people who are trying to be the perfect blogger instead of being the best get out of debt person you can be.  If you want to be the perfect blogger, that is awesome!  I wish you well, but me, I want to be DEBT FREE.  Let me give you some examples, in my slightly biased opinion *cough* of what makes the difference between the get out of debt person and the perfect finance blogger.

Get Out Of Debt Blogger vs Perfect Finance Blogger

1.  Everything is about numbers

The Perfect Finance Blogger says:  I have figured everything down to a tiny fraction of a percentage and decided I am going to pay down on (insert debt here) because it will save me $.23 over a 10 year period.  Ok, OK, I am exaggerating a little bit here, (It’s $1.25…hahaha) but you get the point.  These people are trying in every way to scrape every penny out of their budget in order to make the best financial decision.  The debt plan can change from month to month and the focus on a certain bill can change as well.

The Get Out of Debt Blogger says:  I’ve had my game plan in place for months.  Sure, I might get thrown a curve ball on occasion, but here is how my plan handles it, and nothing is going to derail this locomotive!

2.  Sinking Funds

The Perfect Finance Blogger says:  I have a sinking fund that I pay X amount of dollars into each month so that I can pay my car insurance in full, I’m prepared for an emergency, my deductibles are covered and if I need a new lawn mower or repair I have the money there to handle it.  I also have an emergency fund.

The Get Out of Debt Blogger says:  A sinking fund is money that I can use to pay off my debt.  Why would I put $100.00 a month into another savings account when I have an Emergency Fund?  I’ll deal with paying $2.00 a month in installment fees on my car insurance because $24.00 a year is not going to move the needle much, but that extra $100 a month will get me out of debt faster!

3.  Emotional Money Issues

The Perfect Fiance Blogger says:  I just paid a huge chunk of a bill that’s annoying me because it’s big.  Yes, I could have paid off two bills with that one payment, but I feel better now because that larger bill is not staring me in the face.

The Get Out of Debt Blogger says:  WOOOHOOO!  I just paid off 3 bills with one check.  Now that those minimum payments are gone, I can add those to my next bill and it will be gone soon too!  I know there is a big bill at the end, but once all this other junk is gone I can knock that sucker out like ROCKY!  ADDDDDDDDDDDDDDDRRRRRRRRIANNNNNNN!  Oh yeah. I went there.

4.  Credit Cards

The Perfect Finance Blogger says:  Credit cards build good credit when used responsibly.  I need good credit for a home loan or something else I want to buy in the future with DEBT.

The Get Out of Debt Blogger says:  Credit cards are evil.  If I could use them well I wouldn’t be writing a blog on how to get out of debt.  I don’t EVER want those people to get another penny from me again and I don’t ever want to be in debt again!

5.  Budgeting

The Perfect Finance Blogger says:  I have a general budget in place, and I have plans for all my money.  I’m going to make the best decision I can each month to pay of my debt.  I know how much I owe and where I owe it.  If something comes along I need, I’ll work it in and pay less elsewhere.

The Get Out of Debt Blogger says:  I know exactly how much I plan to pay on every bill I owe.  I’ve made my budget so I can pay a minimum amount due even in a worse case scenario.  The only thing I NEED is to get out of debt and I’ll coupon, live on ramen noodles and whatever else it takes to get there!

 

So, which one ARE YOU?

Author: Jill Stewart

I am a 37 -year-old woman from Arkansas who is happily married to a Scottish immigrant aka “the hubby” “the hubs” or if I am calling him directly “YO YOU!” We’ve been married for 3 years and it’s been a crazy ride, and unfortunately our finances have been beat to death in the last few years. We have two dogs and a cat, no kids. The Blog- What’ll you find: Financial Information as we try to become debt free My attempts at working and trying to maintain a home to the standards I like My adventures in learning how to sew Arts and craft projects Funny tidbits from my life including living with a Scottish person, the dogs, and other oddball things that happen to me. What you won’t find: Much on children. I don’t have kids and I can’t have kids. Recipes- I don’t mind cooking, but unless it’s something really special, don’t come here looking for the weekly recipe! You won’t find it- unless you ask my husband. If you’re interested in what you see, please follow me on Facebook or sign up for emails! Most of all, leave a comment or ask a question! I am always happy to hear from you!

7 thoughts on “Get Out of Debt Blogger vs. The Perfect Finance Blogger

  1. Getting into debt is a very easy thing to do especially if you or someone in your family has a chronic illness or a debilitating disease. Getting out of debt takes a lot of determination, a viable budget and good spending choices. Paying off smaller bills first, removing a minimum monthly payment, is the smartest thing you can do. As you remove lenders from your list the number of minimum monthly payments are reduced and you will be able to pay more than the minimum on another bill. This ‘snowball” effect will allow you to see progress and encourage you to stick with it! Ok so I guess I’m a get out of debt person! =)

  2. I always love your post! I hope I’m the get out of debt blogger or else you’d be real annoyed of me! lol. Life happens and things change so can anyone really be “perfect” at anything? Maybe some people just want to seem perfect. I will read those “perfect finance blogger” post on occasion usually when I am wanting to get ideas on how to handle a situation or just want to see what other people out there are doing. The problem is you can’t connect with them. Someone who is telling their heartfelt story and that shows true emotion is much more interesting to me.

    • Thank you! I’m glad someone does! XD

      That’s just it, life is never going to be perfect. You can plan everything to the penny and something will happen to mess it up. It’s why I like the snowball. You KNOW what your plan is and YOU KNOW what to do if something happens. You’re never really derailed, but you might have to swap tracks for a minute…Train anaologies. Hmmm….

      I also would rather someone be honest and without making excuses for it. Your husband smokes, I smoke, the woman who commented above smokes. SO? It has to go in the budget, so you call it out and you budget for smokes…or you REALLY fight about money…lol!

      • It HAS to go in the budget! 🙂 I should probably start budgeting for my wine to. As of now it comes out of the grocery budget… makes me feel guilty!

        Loved the train analogy!

  3. Get out of Debt blogger is who I think I am more like… But we don’t really have any debt but one a car. we are low income and refuse to go on welfair, so setting some dollars each week away to pay big monthly bill is something we do and we have found with this new Thrive food we are saving money on food too. We went totally Organic so that hit us hard the cost is so high… but a simple life suites us much better now.

Leave a Reply

