Sick of Pet Hair? I GUARANTEE THIS STOPS SHEDDING!

18 Comments

Before you read another word know this:

I am NOT getting paid to advertise this product and I do not make money from the sale if you click the link below.  I’m all about stopping the shedding madness.

______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

A little known fact about me is I used to be a dog groomer.  I HATED spring.  Every owner who didn’t know how to handle pet hair brought their dogs to us and said “Fix it”.  Well, we did.

Covered in Hair

This is what my husband looked like last night after a serious play session with our little dog, Pip.  If you think that’s bad, you should see the back of my car right now.  Our dogs LOVE going for rides in the car.  Unfortunately, it leaves THAT mess of hair behind and doggie nose art on the windows.

The Best Way to Stop Shedding!

Luckily, I still have the MOST AMAZING shed stopping tool in my grooming arsenal.  It’s made by Kong and it’s called a Zoom Groom.  I bought his beast of a tool when I had a Great Dane/Lab mix.  I’m sure you can imagine what 120 lbs. of shedding dog looked like at the time.  This brush left PILES of hair in the yard and kept me from having dog hair tumbleweeds blowing through the house.

Kong front

This is my very dirty and well used Zoom Groom.  I paid about $8.00 for it 15 years ago.  Yes, I said FIFTEEN years ago.  It also might have been left on the back porch once when it rained and developed a bit of a mildew problem, so no, they don’t look all icky when they’re new.

Kong back

This is the actual brush.  You can buy them in a harder or softer material.  I prefer the really stiff brushes because they get into the coat really well.  However, if you have a smaller, less sturdy dog you might want the softer bristle brush.  Also, DO NOT use the brush for dogs on a cat unless you rub VERY gently…or you might accidentally brush a bald spot on your cat that takes over a year to grow back.  Not that I’ve ever done that.  *cough*

This brush really works on short-haired dogs without an undercoat such as Labs, Great Danes, Rat Terriers, Jack Russell Terriers etc..  If you have a Husky, Chow, Malamute etc. type breed or any breed with really thick hair you will need an Undercoat Rake for their hair.  Please be gentle with Undercoat Rakes as they are SHARP and you can cause an irritation on their skin if you’re too rough.  I also prefer this type of brush for dogs with thick layers of hair, again be gentle on sensitive body parts.

Back Hair

The key to getting a Zoom Groom to work well is a vigorous brushing in the direction of the hair growth.  Make sure you get under the collar area, the front of their necks and down the front of their chests.  You will also pull a ton of hair from their thighs and don’t forget the tail!  The AWESOME part about brushing them like this is THEY LOVE IT.  It’s like getting a massage!  The worst part is if the wind is blowing you’ll end up covered in hair.  Do not do this inside.  EVER.  Trust me.

Full Brush

When the brush gets full simply flick your wrist and the hair falls right out.  In about 5 minutes of solid brushing on Pip (23 lbs Rat Terrier mix) tonight we had about a softball sized amount of hair.  We usually try to let it float off for birds and squirrels to use for nesting.  In order to keep the shedding to a minimum you need to brush the dogs at least twice a week for 5-10 minutes.  It’s an easy chore kids can do as well and keeps your house almost completely hair free!

I hope this helps and if you have any other grooming related questions, please feel free to ask!

Pssssst! Hey you there! I have a goal to reach 100 Facebook and Blog followers by the end of April! Would you help me out with that? Just look to your right and click the links to follow me by email or on Facebook! I would love to see you there and to meet this goal! Thank you for helping out!

 

Author: Jill Stewart

I am a 37 -year-old woman from Arkansas who is happily married to a Scottish immigrant aka “the hubby” “the hubs” or if I am calling him directly “YO YOU!” We’ve been married for 3 years and it’s been a crazy ride, and unfortunately our finances have been beat to death in the last few years. We have two dogs and a cat, no kids. The Blog- What’ll you find: Financial Information as we try to become debt free My attempts at working and trying to maintain a home to the standards I like My adventures in learning how to sew Arts and craft projects Funny tidbits from my life including living with a Scottish person, the dogs, and other oddball things that happen to me. What you won’t find: Much on children. I don’t have kids and I can’t have kids. Recipes- I don’t mind cooking, but unless it’s something really special, don’t come here looking for the weekly recipe! You won’t find it- unless you ask my husband. If you’re interested in what you see, please follow me on Facebook or sign up for emails! Most of all, leave a comment or ask a question! I am always happy to hear from you!

18 thoughts on “Sick of Pet Hair? I GUARANTEE THIS STOPS SHEDDING!

  1. Good to know…..That brush doesn’t even look like it would work. I currently have a poodle and he is shed proof so far.

  2. Going to get one TODAY! My “non/light shedding” golden doodle got more golden than poodle and sheds a ridiculous amount of hair! I have been using a slicker brush on her every day since it gets down to her undercoat but I can vacuum and half an hour later there are hair tumble weeds again! Thanks for the tip:)

  3. My husband and I have an old blue Zoom Groom brush that we use on both of our fawn colored bull mastiffs. They love it! It does cut down on the hair inside but doesn’t completely eliminate it. I think that’s impossible with most large breeds! A tip I’ve learned, when you bathe the dog use a shampoo specifically for shedding and use the Zoom Groom to work it into a lather. While rinsing the shampoo off, use the brush as well and run across their coat once more. You’ll be amazed 🙂

  4. Great tip – thank you!

  5. What a wonderful resource, and for cheap!

    Thanks for sharing at Wow Me Wednesday!

  6. I’m a volunteer puppy raiser for a guide dog organization, currently raising my 3rd pup. All have been Labs. We also have a Lab and an Australian Cattle Dog (aka Blue Heeler) that are pets. So with 3 shedding dogs, there’s a lot of hair. I’ve used the Zoom Groom since I started raising guide dog puppies nearly 4 years ago. It’s fanTAStic. I find it helps get more hair out to start out brushing the dog all over in a circular motion. That loosens a lot more hair. Then brush in the direction of the hair. Also, after the brush gets dirty over time, it cleans up easily with soap & water & looks like new. (One commenter mention using it when bathing the dog. A side benefit is that your brush gets cleaned when you do that.) I *LOVE* my Zoom Groom!!!

    • Thanks for coming by Wendy!

      It is a fantastic tool! You can also just brush against the grain of the hair to get out quite a bit of the extra hair too! My dogs are jerks though and get all grumpy if I do that! LOL! By jerks I mean spoiled! 😀

      It sounds like you’re doing some great work! Raising guide dogs has to be immensely rewarding! Kudos to you!

  7. Ahh, I so needed this! We have an English Bulldog with a SERIOUS shedding problem. We bought a horse brush from the feed store and that has helped some, but I think we may try this! Thanks for the idea 🙂

  8. thanks for the info. Have a Weim and Pug. 2 of the WORST shedding furballs I’ve ever owned. They do love to be brushed though!

  9. Can you tell me if you think this would work on a german Shepherd/ rottweiler mix. The shedding is uncontrollable.

Leave a Reply

