Why You Should NEVER Paint Cabinets WHITE!!!

4 Comments

There comes a moment for every blogger (and selfie editor) out there when you have to decide how completely honest you’re going to be with the internet.  I started to do this post yesterday and I was MORTIFIED.  I honestly just couldn’t do it.  I have this teeny tiny HUGE problem where I stick my head in the sand when I get overwhelmed.   There have been two major areas of my life that have ALWAYS suffered, finance and cleaning, because I get sick of fighting the war.

You know how it goes, that perfect budget ends up not working out how you expected.  Those hours of cleaning are gone to the wayside in a matter of days.  For a long time rather than dealing with those issues, I honestly got tired of it and ignored it.  Fortunately, I realized these two specific issues were probably some of the most important things I need to handle.  I made a deal with myself to make some changes this year, (mend those wheels) and get myself back on track.

The living room has been finished:

Living Room Clean Up

But, there is truly one room in the house that makes me absolutely bonkers, the kitchen.  As I have mentioned numerous times, my husband does almost all of the cooking in the house and he does the dishes 99.9% of the time.  I love that he spoils me like that.  The bad side, is that I rarely look around in the kitchen and in the past head=sand because it’s ALWAYS a wreck.

I took some photos for blog posts while I was in the kitchen one day so I could show off how much progress I was making on my cleaning to do list.  To begin, let me show you that at one time my cabinets were fairly clean.

Just say NO to white cabinets 3

And now it’s time for me to be totally honest…and mortified.

Just say NO to white cabinets

First, let me mention that NO MATTER WHAT you do, white cabinet paint WILL break down over time.  These cabinets were painted like 15 years ago…and they look like it.  A lot of the staining around the knobs is actually from the paint wearing down over time and various cleaners working their way through the paint.  Even if these were wiped down every day from the day after they were painted, it would still look a BIT like this.  But, OH MY GAWD.  This particular set also happens to be right above the stove.  Gross.

Second, and this photo is really the one that is absolutely mortifying to me.  This photo is the one that makes me think “Why in the *%$# did I not see this?” every time I look at it.  How do you live in a home that got like this without noticing it happened?  HOW?  Gross, EWWWWWW, NASTY, and #ISWEARIAMNOTAFILTHYPIGEVENTHOUGHITLOOKSLIKEITRIGHTNOW!!!!!

Just say NO to white cabinets 2

Now that I have completely overexposed myself and my imperfect world I’m going to go hide under a rock and die.  I might even clean my cabinets.

Have you ever found something in your own home that mortified you because it was DISGUSTING?  (please tell me I am not alone!!!)

Author: Jill Stewart

I am a 37 -year-old woman from Arkansas who is happily married to a Scottish immigrant aka “the hubby” “the hubs” or if I am calling him directly “YO YOU!” We’ve been married for 3 years and it’s been a crazy ride, and unfortunately our finances have been beat to death in the last few years. We have two dogs and a cat, no kids. The Blog- What’ll you find: Financial Information as we try to become debt free My attempts at working and trying to maintain a home to the standards I like My adventures in learning how to sew Arts and craft projects Funny tidbits from my life including living with a Scottish person, the dogs, and other oddball things that happen to me. What you won’t find: Much on children. I don’t have kids and I can’t have kids. Recipes- I don’t mind cooking, but unless it’s something really special, don’t come here looking for the weekly recipe! You won’t find it- unless you ask my husband. If you’re interested in what you see, please follow me on Facebook or sign up for emails! Most of all, leave a comment or ask a question! I am always happy to hear from you!

4 thoughts on “Why You Should NEVER Paint Cabinets WHITE!!!

  1. So if you walked into someone else’s house you may notice these cabinets but when its in your own home you just kind of get use to the mess. A few weeks backs I bent down to grab something and I felt like I saw my house in a whole different perspective! It is where my toddler lives and it was gross. An old banana under my couch, part of a cereal bar was there to and where in he world did that red stain on my carpet come from??? I’m sure my older son did it he loves to chew up strawberries and then throw them. I get putting your head in the sand… I’m right there with you at the moment. I have been trying to get myself busy to do some spring cleaning but I haven’t got to it yet! I just don’t have the drive to do any deep cleaning right now!

    And yes white cabinets SUCK! I have lived with them before and they are impossible to keep looking nice! And who has time to paint the damn things every other year to even try to keep them looking fresh and clean??

  2. I just saw this post — and you are definitely not alone! I don’t have ever notice the state of my kitchen cabinets, or the huge pile of fingerprints accumulating on the stainless steel dishwasher front, or the grime that gathers under the kitchen table with two small children in the house … but at some point, when the chairs start having to push their way through little snow plough tracks, or you take a photograph and see your room in a whole new light? Then there is the horror. And a vague plan to “do something about that”.

    So no, not alone. 🙂

    On white versus dark cabinets: I started with dark wood and it shows all sorts of pale marks (hello milk dribbles! and mysterious non-milk dribbles too). I think that kitchen cabinets are just bound to collect and show dirt. I steered clear of re-painting white because a lot of people have said they show every mark. So I went pale green instead. So far I haven’t noticed them getting dirty, but they aren’t at the coalface, so to speak. Not next to the dishwasher, or under the prep bench!

    Good luck with your cleaning — hope you find some mojo to get ‘er done!

    • I just keep telling myself one day and one backache at a time. It’s getting there…slowly, but the kitchen is pretty overwhelming…especially when I find my cabinets look like a possessed child barfed on them.

      I think personally, I just might not be a fan of paint at all. I am pretty sure if I get around to new cabinets, which is what I want, that I will stain them some kind of neutral color…and put 15 layers on stain on there so they don’t peel around the knobs any time soon! hahaha!

Leave a Reply

