Finding Clever and Cheap Storage Spaces

Leave a comment

I have been on a quest in my house lately.  I need  all of the surface areas of my home clean.  I just have this gut feeling that once it’s all finished I will be happier with my home and it will be easier to clean.  If I throw/give crap away we don’t use then I should be able to come home and really use my 20 minute a day schedule to keep our home in some semblance of order.  I have decided that while I intend to do some resting, I am going to spend my vacation spring cleaning as well.

My husband and I both pack our lunches for work.  It saves money and it’s healthier.  There is a constant issue of having lunch bags on our kitchen bar.  It makes me crazy.  Then, I tried on top of the microwave.  It drives me crazy.  They were in the way no matter where I moved them.  IT MAKES ME CRAZY.

I was putting up spices one evening into our tiny little spice cabinet and realized there is a ton of unused space from the bottom shelf to the floor.  I had an AH HA moment and promptly asked my husband to put some nails inside the closet to give us a place to hang our bags.

Creative Storage Solutions

Ok, so I guess I didn’t communicate what I wanted well.  He promptly hung them on the door.  You know what?  It’s perfect.  I don’t have to bend down to get things from near the floor, the door easily shuts and I can quickly get to them to pack lunches for the next day.  It totally works for us and makes life simple.  Now, if only the wallpaper fairy would come handle that tragic floral pattern and my olive-green and gold 70’s flooring I could die a happy woman.

Have you found creative nooks in your home to store things that you need but annoy you?

Author: Jill Stewart

I am a 37 -year-old woman from Arkansas who is happily married to a Scottish immigrant aka “the hubby” “the hubs” or if I am calling him directly “YO YOU!” We’ve been married for 3 years and it’s been a crazy ride, and unfortunately our finances have been beat to death in the last few years. We have two dogs and a cat, no kids. The Blog- What’ll you find: Financial Information as we try to become debt free My attempts at working and trying to maintain a home to the standards I like My adventures in learning how to sew Arts and craft projects Funny tidbits from my life including living with a Scottish person, the dogs, and other oddball things that happen to me. What you won’t find: Much on children. I don’t have kids and I can’t have kids. Recipes- I don’t mind cooking, but unless it’s something really special, don’t come here looking for the weekly recipe! You won’t find it- unless you ask my husband. If you’re interested in what you see, please follow me on Facebook or sign up for emails! Most of all, leave a comment or ask a question! I am always happy to hear from you!

Leave a Reply

