Your Budgeting Guilt- GET OVER IT!

2 Comments

Your Budget Guilt Get over it

How many times do we get frustrated about a problem and try to find an answer?  I do it all the time.  If I don’t know how to stay organized, make a recipe or if I haven’t learned some nerdy fact for the day, my brain starts twitching and I turn to Google.  Google has all of the answers to life’s simple problems, right?  I can find out where to buy organization items, make impromptu chocolate chip cookies or discover that a giraffe only has seven vertebrae in its neck.  AWESOME right?!!!

There is a huge problem with this solution to your life.  It doesn’t tell you how to FEEL about issues.  Google can take you on an hour-long trek through the internet to find every single perfect budgeting method.  Some sites will tell you to pay items off by the interest rate first, some will tell you to use a spreadsheet, or to do everything in a notebook.  Some sites give you advice on how not to mess up your budget, how to plan ahead and make sure you know twenty-four hours a day seven days a week exactly where you money came from, where it is now and where it’s going.  It tells you how to be perfectWhat it doesn’t tell you, is how to handle the emotions of not getting a goal 100% correct the first time.

I see bloggers who are brand new to budgeting constantly picking themselves apart over a budgeting “mistake”.

Examples:

“Well, I made my budget, but I went over $2.00 on groceries and we ate out one night.  We really need to get it together!!!”

“Well, I paid off $500 on a credit card, but I’m still $16,000 in debt.”

ARE YOU KIDDING ME???

If your lights were turned off because you went over $2.00 on your budget and you went out to eat, fine.  I’ll give you two second pity party because that is a giant mistake.  We’ll have to make party hats out of the comics though, because it’s thrifty living in this house! However, I am guessing since you made a blog post you have power.  I’m not condoning going crazy and spending your whole paycheck on sixteen pairs of designer heels, but if you own one pair of sneakers and the sole falls off, stop giving yourself grief because you had to go buy shoes.  That’s life!

There is simply NO WAY we can plan for every single occurrence in our lives.  We can have our basic Emergency Fund of $1,000 set to the side, but it doesn’t mean that the car won’t break down and you won’t have to have an emergency surgery in the same month.  BOOM, your fund is gone, you’ll have new bills and you’ll have to start over.  IT HAPPENS.  Yes, it’s a setback.  Yes, it stinks, but stop beating yourself up over it!

Getting out of debt, staying out of debt and budgeting are LIFE TIME GOALS.  They are not a sprint, they’re not even a marathon.  It’s a routine  you’ll have to do every day for the rest of your life if you want to be incredible at managing your money.  Setting those goals for yourself is a great plan.  It’s wonderful to make changes and improve your life.  It’s awesome to be debt free.  It’s security, comfort and knowing that you can look at yourself and be proud.

It’s also knowing that it’s OK if you buy mayo without a coupon.  The world won’t tilt off its axis.

I promise.

P.S. I would love for you to leave a comment telling me what you thought about this post!  You can also subscribe to me on Facebook by clicking the link on the right side of the screen.  Tomorrow will be a post full of shenanigans, don’t miss it!

Author: Jill Stewart

I am a 37 -year-old woman from Arkansas who is happily married to a Scottish immigrant aka “the hubby” “the hubs” or if I am calling him directly “YO YOU!” We’ve been married for 3 years and it’s been a crazy ride, and unfortunately our finances have been beat to death in the last few years. We have two dogs and a cat, no kids. The Blog- What’ll you find: Financial Information as we try to become debt free My attempts at working and trying to maintain a home to the standards I like My adventures in learning how to sew Arts and craft projects Funny tidbits from my life including living with a Scottish person, the dogs, and other oddball things that happen to me. What you won’t find: Much on children. I don’t have kids and I can’t have kids. Recipes- I don’t mind cooking, but unless it’s something really special, don’t come here looking for the weekly recipe! You won’t find it- unless you ask my husband. If you’re interested in what you see, please follow me on Facebook or sign up for emails! Most of all, leave a comment or ask a question! I am always happy to hear from you!

2 thoughts on “Your Budgeting Guilt- GET OVER IT!

  1. This made me laugh! I hate that I can be so crazy sometimes about my budget but you are totally right I can buy Mayo without a coupon! Life will go on. We definitely shouldn’t beat ourselves up over every single penny on our budget.

Leave a Reply

