Managing My Management

2 Comments

I am feeling a bit overwhelmed at the moment! I’ve been spending a lot of time working on the budget and trying to get things organized. Our budget, grocery shopping and bill management has been the majority of it, but it’s slowly coming along and I imagine it will get easier with time and lots of practice.

I’m REALLY proud of the hubby and myself for sticking to our grocery budget this month. Luckily, we had a portable heater that went belly up about 2 weeks after we bought it and we were able to return it to stay in our budget. Our gas budget has gone pretty good as well, but getting a jump on paying the medical bills without a second income is just not happening right now. I am loving an envelope system for our groceries and gas budget. Each payday I stick our money in there for two weeks and I know it’s there. I’m confident paying the bills because I am not wondering if there is enough money left for groceries. It’s kind of weird paying yourself first for a change.

I finished up our taxes tonight. This is the first year we haven’t had to pay anything into them since we’ve been married, so I am incredibly happy about that. It’s not a huge refund, but it’s certainly enough to start and emergency fund and possibly fix the cracked windshield that I received as a Christmas present. STUPID tree branch.

On a wonderful bright note, my husband had a job interview today.  It’s a PRN or call in position, but the hiring manager kept dropping hints that a night shift will open up soon.  Night shifts are perfect for us since I can drop him off before I need to be in bed, and pick him up before I have to be out of the door for work.  I am also about to start nagging inspiring him to really work on getting his driving permit.  He’s 42 and has never had a driver’s license!  It wasn’t necessary in Scotland, but it certainly is here.  He could drive himself to work then and I can get an extra 20 minutes of sleep.  I’m all for it! 😀

On another bright note, without really trying I have lost 8 lbs. over a few weeks.  It’s a good start and although I would have loved for the scale to move more, I am going to happily take my 8 lbs, and keep adding to it.  I’m really working on changing my mentality about weight loss in that it’s not a sprint, but a marathon.  I haven’t been eating the mindless munching foods, not that I was horrid with them, but better safe than sorry.  There are no crackers, chips or cookies in the house at the moment and I am trying to watch salt intake.  If I eat out at all, it’s once a week and I really try not to overdo it.  The hubby has been exceptional at helping me make sure I have lunches packed and healthy snacks ready to go.  He’s also been a lot better about not pushing me to eat what HE THINKS I should eat and leaving me alone when I say I am full.

I think this week I’m going to work on the budget for March, and work on the house.  It’s a horrid mess.  I’m also going to have to consider making myself some kind of schedule.  While I did spend this Sunday making my first ever quilt top, I really haven’t been doing much of the other things I enjoy.  I need to find that happy balance between work and play.

I also finally scheduled my first vacation from work in 3 years.  I have always saved my vacation time for sick days or the random mess that comes up.  Unfortunately, it also means that the only time I have taken off work is when I am exhausted, completely crapped out, worn down and usually SICK.  I am hoping that by actually scheduling some time off for a change I might get some R&R and actually prevent some sickness by resting.  It’s going to be hard not to overwhelm myself with spring projects though.  My new mantra:  Happy Balances!

Author: Jill Stewart

I am a 37 -year-old woman from Arkansas who is happily married to a Scottish immigrant aka “the hubby” “the hubs” or if I am calling him directly “YO YOU!” We’ve been married for 3 years and it’s been a crazy ride, and unfortunately our finances have been beat to death in the last few years. We have two dogs and a cat, no kids. The Blog- What’ll you find: Financial Information as we try to become debt free My attempts at working and trying to maintain a home to the standards I like My adventures in learning how to sew Arts and craft projects Funny tidbits from my life including living with a Scottish person, the dogs, and other oddball things that happen to me. What you won’t find: Much on children. I don’t have kids and I can’t have kids. Recipes- I don’t mind cooking, but unless it’s something really special, don’t come here looking for the weekly recipe! You won’t find it- unless you ask my husband. If you’re interested in what you see, please follow me on Facebook or sign up for emails! Most of all, leave a comment or ask a question! I am always happy to hear from you!

2 thoughts on “Managing My Management

  1. It sounds like you have your feet pointed down a really excellent path at the moment. Sticking to a budget and also losing weight? Time for a high five 🙂

Leave a Reply

