We’re having WHAT for dinner?

4 Comments

Menu Planning

I’m really struggling with something.  I don’t understand menu planning.  Sure, if there is a special event, Thanksgiving, Christmas or a birthday dinner, I will go out of my way to plan something.  Aside from that…I just don’t get it.

Everywhere you look on blogs about saving money or running a smooth household I see posts on menu planning.  It’s just not ever been something I felt the need to do.  Perhaps it’s because my husband and I buy a lot of staple items for our pantry anyway.  We have certain vegetables and fruits we like and we buy those.  We have certain meals we eat on a regular basis and our stockpile supports those as well.  I read a factoid somewhere that said most household eat the same 10-15 meals per month.

To me, sitting down and planning out everything you’re going to eat takes a lot of the spontaneity out of food.  Maybe I have flashbacks from Weight Watchers and counting and pre-planning every single things that went into my mouth for weeks on end.  What if I wake up on Tuesday and I don’t want to eat a veggie platter?  What if I want pasta?  What if I am  dying for shrimp?

I can freely admit I do get sick of the constant barrage of “what’s for dinner” from my husband.  Even though he does the majority of the cooking (especially while he is out of work), I constantly have to weigh in on what we’re going to have.  I can see a planned menu keeping that question out of my life.

Lately, because I have been working so hard on our budgets and couponing, I have a much better idea of what is in the pantry that I have had in the recent past.  We still shop sales and we still stockpile.  I guess I just kind of have an inventory in my head of what we can cook based new purchases along with what we can cook with necessities.  For instance, I know I have the ingredients for chocolate chip cookies in my kitchen right now.  I also know that I have no incentive to make them…yet. 🙂

Maybe I don’t feel the need to make a menu plan because our household only has two people in it.  If we over cook, the food becomes our lunch the next day or we freeze it for an easy meal another night.  I just don’t see the need for US to have a menu plan.

Do you make a menu plan?  Why or why not?  Am I missing some major reason why we should have one in our household?

Author: Jill Stewart

I am a 37 -year-old woman from Arkansas who is happily married to a Scottish immigrant aka “the hubby” “the hubs” or if I am calling him directly “YO YOU!” We’ve been married for 3 years and it’s been a crazy ride, and unfortunately our finances have been beat to death in the last few years. We have two dogs and a cat, no kids. The Blog- What’ll you find: Financial Information as we try to become debt free My attempts at working and trying to maintain a home to the standards I like My adventures in learning how to sew Arts and craft projects Funny tidbits from my life including living with a Scottish person, the dogs, and other oddball things that happen to me. What you won’t find: Much on children. I don’t have kids and I can’t have kids. Recipes- I don’t mind cooking, but unless it’s something really special, don’t come here looking for the weekly recipe! You won’t find it- unless you ask my husband. If you’re interested in what you see, please follow me on Facebook or sign up for emails! Most of all, leave a comment or ask a question! I am always happy to hear from you!

4 thoughts on “We’re having WHAT for dinner?

  1. My husband and I buy a quadruple amount of our grocery staples when they’re BOGO. I’ve tried to plan a menu for the week, but it just doesn’t happen. Something about it just sucks the fun out of grocery shopping. However, if there are a few new recipes I want to try, I just bring the recipe so I won’t forget key ingredients. I have a friend who cooks her meals for the whole week in one day. I don’t know about you, but I would dread that day. She’s hardcore paleo/primal, and makes everything from scratch, so I would double dread that day.

    • I tried cooking meals in advance as well. They were crock pot meals we could just toss in during the morning and have ready at night, but I wasn’t overly impressed.

      It’s nice to know I am not the only person who doesn’t make a meal plan!

  2. I alternate between planning, and winging it. I don’t much like having to always work out what dinner will be, but I double don’t like having to do it at the last minute, because small children are nuts at dinner time. Planning helps with that.

    At the moment I’m working out what dinner will be, early in my morning. That way I can know if I can cook from my stockpile, or if I have to head to the shops. When I planned a whole week at once I did get fancier meals going, but I ran out of steam. Like my one week of bento lunches. 🙂

Leave a Reply

