Grocery Retailers- Don’t MAKE me buy a cow!

2 Comments

Don't Make Me Buy A Cow

For the record, I know nothing about cows.  I don’t know what kind of cow that is or if it’s appropriate for the post, but it’s a cow dang it.  Also, I am just learning WordPress, so I wanted to insert this photo instead, but I couldn’t get it to work.  So, what you have is the one and only photo I found that I ever took of cows.

My grocery trips are well prepared plans.  I have my list, my coupon binder and a mostly relaxed demeanor when I walk into a store.  There is a certain way I shop for efficiency and a desire to get in and out with the least amount of hassle possible.  Sometimes, the best intentions have the worst result.

One day, my husband and I were casually strolling through Kroger and I approached the sausage section.  All I wanted was a 1 pound package of breakfast sausage.  I normally don’t even buy breakfast sausage because…HELLO BACON.  I flipped over to my coupons for sausage and found myself filled with glee at what was soon to be a doubled coupon.  For 10 seconds.

Suddenly, I found myself staring at the price of sausage and cussing.  Yes, I said it CUSSING.  One TINY package of sausage was over $4.00.  My mouth was hanging open in shock while I went on a somewhat quiet tirade about how there was no way I was paying that price for sausage and that various parts of my body need smooching from whoever thought I would pay THAT PRICE.   I literally lost it.

Normally, I am a pretty calm and laid back person.  Normally, I laugh and crack jokes.  Needless to say, my husband who was a little farther away in the store heard me and came over.  He asked me what I was upset about and when I explained, he laughed at me.  I retaliated by making this face:

Janine you've got the bug eye

He hates that face.  It seems to give him an uncontrollable urge to jab his finger into my eye.  I have no clue why, but since I cuss at sausage who am I to judge?

Sidebar:  My friend Tammy calls this my Janine you’ve got the bug eye face.

You might be wondering right about now what this has to do with cows.  Well, after the sausage incident, my husband and I started referring to overpriced items as things to “stick it with the sausage” i.e we’re NOT paying THAT price.  It keeps me from going crazy in the store and reminds us of a funny moment.

Milk is now over $4.00 a gallon in one store and rapidly approaching that amount in other stores.  Beef prices are nearly double what they were a year or two ago.  Turkey prices have increased here as more people purchase it instead of beef.  Fish has been on sale lately which is pretty normal for Lent, but it’s still higher than it was a year ago.

If you see a crazy woman walking around in Kroger or Wal-Mart randomly yelling  muttering SAUSAGE, then it’s just me having a moment.  I apologize in advance.

Have you ever had a grocery price make you go a little nutty?  What was it?

Author: Jill Stewart

I am a 37 -year-old woman from Arkansas who is happily married to a Scottish immigrant aka “the hubby” “the hubs” or if I am calling him directly “YO YOU!” We’ve been married for 3 years and it’s been a crazy ride, and unfortunately our finances have been beat to death in the last few years. We have two dogs and a cat, no kids. The Blog- What’ll you find: Financial Information as we try to become debt free My attempts at working and trying to maintain a home to the standards I like My adventures in learning how to sew Arts and craft projects Funny tidbits from my life including living with a Scottish person, the dogs, and other oddball things that happen to me. What you won’t find: Much on children. I don’t have kids and I can’t have kids. Recipes- I don’t mind cooking, but unless it’s something really special, don’t come here looking for the weekly recipe! You won’t find it- unless you ask my husband. If you’re interested in what you see, please follow me on Facebook or sign up for emails! Most of all, leave a comment or ask a question! I am always happy to hear from you!

2 thoughts on “Grocery Retailers- Don’t MAKE me buy a cow!

  1. If you think meat is high try gluten free anything…the bread is insane

Leave a Reply

