Toads!!

33 Comments

I would like to introduce you to Toady McToaderson.  Yes, he told me his name, I am fluent in toad.

I was weed eating the yard the other day and noticed this little stinker on my back porch.  When I first saw him I was pretty concerned I had hit him in some fashion with the weedeater, but it turns out for some reason, he was just red.  Weird.

See?  Toady McToaderson is a HUGE toad.  OK, well huge for me because I don’t live somewhere where there are mutant toads big enough to give you nightmares.  He would have fit in my palm.

toad1

Here he is again.  He asked me to get the grass out of his eye for him, but since I like the idea of pissing off PETA I left it.  It adds character, and all toads need character.

redtoad

Author: Jill Stewart

I am a 37 -year-old woman from Arkansas who is happily married to a Scottish immigrant aka “the hubby” “the hubs” or if I am calling him directly “YO YOU!” We’ve been married for 3 years and it’s been a crazy ride, and unfortunately our finances have been beat to death in the last few years. We have two dogs and a cat, no kids. The Blog- What’ll you find: Financial Information as we try to become debt free My attempts at working and trying to maintain a home to the standards I like My adventures in learning how to sew Arts and craft projects Funny tidbits from my life including living with a Scottish person, the dogs, and other oddball things that happen to me. What you won’t find: Much on children. I don’t have kids and I can’t have kids. Recipes- I don’t mind cooking, but unless it’s something really special, don’t come here looking for the weekly recipe! You won’t find it- unless you ask my husband. If you’re interested in what you see, please follow me on Facebook or sign up for emails! Most of all, leave a comment or ask a question! I am always happy to hear from you!

33 thoughts on “Toads!!

  1. those are real awesome toad pics! If I were you there’d be tens of his pics in my computer in 2 seconds.I’d be careful tho. Brightly colored amphibians are usually poisonous.

  2. It’s a huge toad, that one. Good thing he’s pretty. If not, I’d shudder

  3. I like them! The pictures are great, the photographer is HOT HOT HOT and the frog rocks my world. Hes in my bed right now

  4. haha “im fluent in toad” XDXD lol and i don’t think i’ve ever seen a red toad like toady mctoaderson before..kinda unique

  5. He looks like he’s filled with jelly.

  6. Runs away*

  7. I can’t identify the particular type of toad you have there but the two large bumps behind his eyes are called paratoid glands. They secret poison when attacked by a predator. If you see him again you might want to use the shovel to chunk him over the fence. I know Ontaria or Sydney might try to make a meal of him. 

  8. Very cool toad! I have a few cherished toad stories as well. Something about finding a toad seems magical and mysterious, like you’ve been visited by a good luck omen.

  9. What a cool toad, he’s RED!  I caught a toad the size of my face about a month ago in Oklahoma.  I’m going to post a pic, come check it out.uploaded

  10. Woahhh Hi Toady! ^_^ What an interesting colour; I’ve never seen one like that.

  11. Awww he’s a cutie! I’ve always liked toads… we used to have a toad living in our garden; his name was David (pronounced the Spanish way). Then my dad ran him over…. I was very angry!

  12. Ummm…I don’t do toads. That one looks dangerous.Michael

  13. If I would have found something like that in MY yard, I would have moved… immediately! I commend your bravery!

  14. T-O-A-D, toooooad……

  15. I have never seen a toad that looks like that.  Ever.  It’s not poisonous, is it?  Crazy.

  16. Toads are good luck to have in the garden, and they eat pests. Although, a couple hundred years ago, if you’d had such a toad, people might have assumed you were a witch. Toads being the third most popular witchy familiar after cats and hares.I agree though, he’s probably poisonous… so don’t go licking him or anything. o.O

  17. Cool pics. We only have the green varieties of frogs in my yard…LOL

  18. EWWWW!! AHHHH! That is another thing I DON’T deal with..toads.  Toads, frogs, Toady…yuck!  I would have ran..never seen one that color though.

  19. @Shearhappiness – You are such a girl!!!!!!@aj_mudd – That is the first time I have ever seen a red one like that.  It made me wonder if maybe it is mating season or something.@harmony0stars – I did lick him!  That’s when he turned red.  j/k  I wasn’t aware toads were the 3rd most popular familiar that was something new for me.  I don’t go out of my way to remove anything from my yard…attic yes, but there are squirrels, rabbits, and all kind of other critters out in my yard 🙂@Blue__Summer – I have no clue!!!@StormieWeatherz – LOL!  I get the giggles over people being afraid of toads.@ETCACTOR – Why not?!  @point_of_no_R3turn – Your Dad ran over your toad 😦  How sad.@XfantomcatX – I wish I could find out what kind he is, I’ve never seen him like that either!@ISNORTTHENOSELUCIFER – I used to have a toad that would come up on the front porch of my house.  I would grab June gubs off of the screen and shake them up to stun them, then feed the toad.  He was too cute!@digood1974 – Meh, it won’t kill them, it will just piss them off and make them foam at the mouth a bit.  Could be fun to watch…OK, not really, but the mental image is quite funny!@tinahawt – Hopefully he has been eating all the dang ants in my yard!@wherethefishlives – And he said to tell you, “You rock and make another video!!!”@bloodxalibi – I am fluent in toad.  I spent a summer with them. 😉@Consenttotreatment – You’ve been spending too much time with Princess Fiona!@FreeeVerse – LOL welcome to Arkansas!@ihsankhairir – I didn’t touch it!

  20. Too cute! Toads are adorable. If it didn’t look potentially poisonous I’d say to try kissing it. If frogs become princes, toads must become… hm… I don’t know, at least a viscount or something. Either way, instant royalty!

  21. Did some searching on the net… The best I can come up with is that it’s some kind of Fowler’s toad. They are known to hybridize with other species which makes it difficult to identify them. Plus, just on their own, they can vary greatly. So, at a guess, I’d say it’s a Fowler toad and it gets the red from its mother’s side of the family. Maybe crossed with an Oak Toad or an American Toad…

  22. Wow! I’ve never seen a toad like that. He’s kind of pretty… in a toady, warty sort of way.

  23. great pics of one ugly toad.   i have toads where i live and they are not even close to looking like that.  i find them in the dog water bowl that i keep by the gate.

  24. @Carolina17 – You seriously made me gag at the thought of kissing a toad.@harmony0stars – Thanks for checking that out for me, when I get more time I will have to look it up!!!@TheCheshireGrins – I thought it was cool, once I realized I didn’t cut him up with the weedeater!@buddy71 – LOL, that toad needed some water!

  25. I’ve never seen a toad like that before. So red…

  26. That’s the coolest toad I’ve yet to have seen!

  27. Interesting pics! I can’t believe you got such good shots of them.

  28. do not lik todes!  todes will no fill ui with GUDS LOVE!!lovebrid53

  29. that is one frightening-looking toad. i have never seen a red one before!

  30. With colors like that, he’s gotta be a magic toad…

  31. ugh!  you could not pay me to touch that thing!

Leave a Reply

