Baby tears

22 Comments

I have yet to figure out this new part of my emotions.  For some reason in the last few years every time someone I know has become pregnant, I get stupidly giddy for them.  There is a recommend going around Xanga today for a young woman who is going into labor as we speak.  What happens?  I tear up a little.  I don’t even know her!!!!

About this time last year, I was getting a phone call from a gamer buddy from FFXI letting me know that his daughter was born.  She’s absolutely precious.  I adored this husband and wife couple, and again, baby born = big stupid tears from me.  I spent a lot of time in the hospital making a baby blanket for them in colors they requested to match her room.  I bet a bunch of you didn’t know I could crochet!  See?  Nerdiness knows NO bounds!

blankie

It has little braids that run up the whole length of the blanket.  Super cute.

m102276172

Anyway, I have no idea why it is that the joy other parents feel when they have their children is something that just rubs off on me, effects me, and then makes me cry.  Grrrrrr.

Author: Jill Stewart

I am a 37 -year-old woman from Arkansas who is happily married to a Scottish immigrant aka “the hubby” “the hubs” or if I am calling him directly “YO YOU!” We’ve been married for 3 years and it’s been a crazy ride, and unfortunately our finances have been beat to death in the last few years. We have two dogs and a cat, no kids. The Blog- What’ll you find: Financial Information as we try to become debt free My attempts at working and trying to maintain a home to the standards I like My adventures in learning how to sew Arts and craft projects Funny tidbits from my life including living with a Scottish person, the dogs, and other oddball things that happen to me. What you won’t find: Much on children. I don’t have kids and I can’t have kids. Recipes- I don’t mind cooking, but unless it’s something really special, don’t come here looking for the weekly recipe! You won’t find it- unless you ask my husband. If you’re interested in what you see, please follow me on Facebook or sign up for emails! Most of all, leave a comment or ask a question! I am always happy to hear from you!

22 thoughts on “Baby tears

  1. I would think of it as a good thing, not a bad one… it just shows that you are sensitive to the joys of others! Good job on the blanket!

  2. @angi1972 – Thanks! I didn’t have anything else to do last summer while hubby was in the hospital, so I made it there.

  3. AAaawww that is very sweet of you!

  4. That’s sweet. I want to have kids. I’m down with crocheting-somebody’s gotta do it. I used to make chain mail…kind of similar concept…

  5. That’s cute. The blanket must have been a lot of work.

  6. cool blanket!!! i used to crochet too before i got nerve damage in my left hand – so i know the work that goes into making one!!!

  7. Beautiful blanket!  I can crochet too… and knit.  We can be craft nerds together. =D  I agree with angi1972; I think it’s a good thing you can share in others’ joys.

  8. Perhaps it doesn’t make you “cry” per say. Maybe babies are like onions to you.

  9. @tinahawt – LOL I needed that laugh!

  10. i’ll take some of that kind of nerdiness.  my nerdiness doesn’t produce anything of value.

  11. Shoot, I cry about stranger babies on TLC, weddings, and Jiff peanut butter commercials…you know the one where the little boy makes the sandwich for his mom while she is studying??  I think the onion theory is a good one!

  12. @angi1972 – Thanks, I really had fun making it!  Well, given the circustances.@keensandmerrills – Don’t tell people that.  It will ruin my reputation.@ISNORTTHENOSELUCIFER – Pictures of chain mail please!@nattata – Actually, it wasn’t that much work.  It had a very set pattern, so once I got into the groove of it, I could do it without looking while I was watching tv.@theatrestarr – Thanks!  I need to take the time to sit down and teach myself new stitches!!!@sigma_C_eq – Knitting…someone tried to teach me and it was disasterous.  I learned to crochet when I was like 10, so it comes pretty easy to me.  I should force myself to get good at it, and if I ever have kids teach them early!@deep_deep_dark – Well, I hope the blankie holds up for years and years so that one day it will be of value!!@amandaarallen – I had to stop watching A Baby Story because of that.  The commercial that gets me the most is for Iams Dog Food.  It’s the one with the little girl and the dog named Casey.  Makes me tear up EVERY SINGLE DAMN TIME!

  13. I crochet, too!  Yes, I am a dork.  But I’m proud of that. *grin*  Although, i must admit, your stitching is stellar.  Love it.

  14. It’s not a bad thing, although it makes you cry.  I think it’s refreshing. So many people in this world are consumed with themselves, and jealous of EVERYTHING. It’s nice to see somebody who  cares about someone other than themselves!!!!!

  15. I’m with you. New babies bring tears to my eyes. I’m totally guilty of crying at the Baby shows on TLC. Gorgeous blanket btw.

  16. it’s good to show your emotions rather than just let them build up inside you. i’m glad you choose to show your emotions. that’s really a great thing. 

  17. Yay for baby blankets.I seriously don’t have patience for that. I can’t even finish a cross stitch design.

  18. your crochet is better than mine.

  19. I get the same way…wanted to cry when a girl from school brought in her twins yesterday…what a sap I am!

  20. beautiful blanket!  I couldn’t make one if I tried!

Leave a Reply

