Business attire

41 Comments

I have been scrounging through my closet for a bit really trying to dissect my wardrobe into something professional looking.  I want this insurance company to respect that I WANT to have a career and not a job, so I figured there are some things in my wardrobe that need to seriously be updated.

I had a TON of pants, but really very few dress shirts.  The more I dug through the closet the more I became really frustrated with my professional clothing options.  Where I work now we pretty much wear polos and jeans, slacks, or capris.  I started thinking since I had so many pants I could just get a few nice suit jackets and buy a variety of camis to go underneath to shake up the color and such.  What I discovered is every single solitary jacket is butt freaking ugly.

So, I started scouring the internet with the understanding that since I am taking a week off before I start my new job I will have to go to a tailor…yet another drawback to being short.  My sleeves ALWAYS come half way down or over my hands if the clothes are long sleeved.  Anyway, here are some of the items I picked and I am curious to see if you think they are professional enough!

I have a pair of black boots just like those…muhawaaahaaaa, and the dress was on sale for $17.00  Actually, I lied, my heels are higher on my boots!

pink dress

On sale for $11.99

greydress

On sale for $39.99, which is more than I would normally pay for a dress, but damn that dress is classy enough for work, but sexy enough for a date!

blackdress

Double Breasted suits never go out of style, and these were on sale…the whole suit is less than the price of one butt ugly jacket.  I am getting 1 in Black and 1 in chocolate.  I also love the damn pin stripes in this suit, but, I must go as mix and match as possible.  *pout*

doublebreastedsuit

And last, I am getting this one in Navy.  It was $34.99…Thank you for clearance items.  *kisses the order screen*

navy suit

So, grand total for 3 full suits and 3 dresses is under $200.00.  I think that is a pretty damn good deal.  I still need to go buy a few pairs of shoes too.  I hate shoe shopping….love shoes, hate the shopping.

What do you think?

Author: Jill Stewart

I am a 37 -year-old woman from Arkansas who is happily married to a Scottish immigrant aka “the hubby” “the hubs” or if I am calling him directly “YO YOU!” We’ve been married for 3 years and it’s been a crazy ride, and unfortunately our finances have been beat to death in the last few years. We have two dogs and a cat, no kids. The Blog- What’ll you find: Financial Information as we try to become debt free My attempts at working and trying to maintain a home to the standards I like My adventures in learning how to sew Arts and craft projects Funny tidbits from my life including living with a Scottish person, the dogs, and other oddball things that happen to me. What you won’t find: Much on children. I don’t have kids and I can’t have kids. Recipes- I don’t mind cooking, but unless it’s something really special, don’t come here looking for the weekly recipe! You won’t find it- unless you ask my husband. If you’re interested in what you see, please follow me on Facebook or sign up for emails! Most of all, leave a comment or ask a question! I am always happy to hear from you!

41 thoughts on “Business attire

  1. well, I’m no fashion expert, but still, sounds like a good deal. the first one vaguely reminds me of Star Trek. woot!

  2. i’m no fashion expert either, but i lke these!i’m short too 5′ 4″). i know what you’re going through

  3. Sounds like a deal to me too.

  4. hahahaha,,, all women like shoes,,, maybe i should have used that as my what women want answer,,, a shoe salesman,,,,i shop at the corner garage sale and try to average 10 pesos per purchase,,, (about a dollar) but im no fashion statement.i prefer dresses on a woman,,, but deversity is good i guess,,,, if your comfortable with the price,,,, as wallythemerchant always says,,, “if you like it i love it”the only think i know about fashion is you dont want to wear black if its hot and the sun is shining on you,,,, you will pay dearly.i have all these black scooter rally tshirts i dont know what to do with,,, save them for winter i guess.

  5. I think you will look smashing in those outfits!

  6. I think they are great.I wouldn’t wear a  pants suit to a job interview…oddly its still high on the list of no no’sI work in nursing and wear scrubs every day but have been told pants can make or break it for a lot of bosses. Weird.As for what’s business dress these days…who the heck knows

  7. Really mix it up and go naked

  8. that is GREAT!  Yay for clearances!!I’m never lucky when buying clothes online, I have t try everything on or it won’t fit…… but I wish I dared try it more, I’d but a pair of Tom shoes if only I knew what size to order.

  9. I think you got a great deal. I’ve worked in insurance for the last 25 yrs. Good luck with the new job.

  10. I’m not sure about the first. It looks very sexy to me and the fabric might be too clingy – it’s hard to tell. There is some great advice out there on professional attire. We had a pro come into my old job and teach the sales staff how to dress and what colors to choose, etc. The gist was that you couldn’t go wrong with a navy dress suit (skirt, not pants), white blouse, and a touch of red. It was all about the psychology of color and the message you send – blue and white makes people trust you and a touch of red makes people want to give you money evidently. I was poor at the time, but quality trumps quantity in my opinion. One nice jacket – navy of course – a coordinating skirt and a coordinating pant (they do not have to be the same), and a couple of blouses were all I could do. Surprisingly, it was enough. Put most of your money towards a really well-made classy jacket or suit.That was a while back and it depends on the business culture. Things have gotten more and more casual, but in my opinion, you should always dress for the job you want.You really have great taste. I would wear any of those except the pants outfits, but I just don’t really wear pants too much. I love dresses, but skirts are much more versatile in my opinion.

  11. 5’2″ here.  I end up hemming all of my pants.  Luckily I have a sewing machine of my own now.Those are good prices.  Where did you shop?

  12. They all look really good.  Good luck with the insurance company.  I have a lunch meeting on Tuesday and I have no idea what to wear since its supposed to be more informal than an acutal interview.  I’m torn between wearing slacks or a skirt.  I have no clue!

  13. @VaultESL – You are such a nerd at heart.  ❤ ya for it!@happydeviant – Yay to hear from another woman on this one!  I feel better!@UberGoobah – I think they are a good deal.  They snuck another suit in on me at check out that is only $20.00…couldn’t pass that up!!@mejicojohn – For a full suit, the prices are awesome.@SladeTheGreyFox – Rock on!  Thanks!@laughingfairy – I already have the job!  I am just trying to find stuff to fill in!@Tigster – Hell to the nawwwwwwwww@relaxolgy – I gave up on getting a perfect fit online or in a store.  Pants are too long, sleeves are too long, if they fit over the boobs the shirts fall off of my shoulders.  I am just going to start living with a seamstress!@comet555 – Thanks!  Do you think those are insurance appropriate outfits?@storyslut – YAY!!!

  14. Chicken 

  15. @A___Beautiful___Disaster – Thanks!  Funny thing is, I wasn’t buying the suits for the pants, I was buying them for the jackets!  It’s cheaper to buy the whole dang suit.  I already have a cute black skirt with pink pin stripes, and a black skirt that will go with pretty much everything.  My black skirt is made of the same material as the pink dress, and it’s not clingy at all, it’s actually very loose and flowy…thank goodness!!!  I did pick up a navy suit…I just have a hard time convincing myself to wear red.  I don’t think it looks so great on me. 😦@Amarisa – Romans!@Giraffney – If it is informal, I would wear slacks!

  16. @Tigster – In public yes, at home…no 😉

  17. @Southernlass – when I say a touch I mean like a little red pocket kerchief.I’m not sure how good red looks on me, but I love it.

  18. I am the wrong person to ask. I have always worked with children and you can’t wear any of these when you are sitting cross-legged on a rug.

  19. @A___Beautiful___Disaster – I get what you are saying….hmmmm…*ponders*@keensandmerrills – LOL I think you are more brave than I!

  20. Yes, a nice choice and a great price!

  21. I’m liking the choices. Professional, but not stuffy. Thats one reason why I’ve decided to be a teacher. We get to do the whole business casual deal. And once you have tenure, you can drop the business part and show up to class in jeans… yay for teachers. But anyways, I digress. I think you did an absolutely wonderful job in picking out clothing. I wish I was as much of a bargain hunter as you. As for shoe shopping, I dread it as much as you do. I make it a point to do all that horrid business online. You just have to know what shoe size you wear in a particular style and go from there. So go to the store once, do all the shopping online from there on after. Makes my life so much easier. And I like getting packages in the mail…

  22. i think they would all look great in the office.   ohh…you mean the clothing?  i thought it was the women you were asking about!   lol  just kidding.  i feel they all look great for the office and yes professional.   but what do i know….i get to wear hospital scrubs most of the time.  with a few accessories, each dress could look different.  a belt here and scarf there and a pin/broach there.  bingo!

  23. I think your wardrobe is gonna look fucking awesome.

  24. Those look great!  I’m sure you’ll look awesome at your new job!  Good choices =) I especially like the classy work/date dress.  

  25. @nattata – Thanks!@lizheartshakespeare – OK, good.  That is kind of what I was going for.  I don’t want to be unapproachable!!!@buddy71 – I miss the days of wearing scrubs!@tinahawt – Thanks!  I can stop sweating now!

  26. Great outfits…I especially like the first. 🙂

  27. Awesome!  I especially love the first dress.

  28. Seriously…that is an awesome deal! I love the purple dress, very pretty. 🙂

  29. Wow, that’s beautiful. Inspires me to try to wear dresses to work 🙂

  30. I think you are ready to go! *sparkle

  31. Where did you find these? I want ’em, too!!!Shoe shopping is pretty much the ONLY shopping I DO enjoy these days! (I’ve never cried because I couldn’t fit into a pair of shoes!)Seriously, though… ya did good!

  32. @Southernlass – Oh Rly? Still got that webcam? 😀

  33. @Tigster – Ha!  Yes, I have the webcam.  It’s $15.00 a minute!!!!!!  Disclaimer:  I will not be held responsible for any vomiting and no refunds will be given due to vomiting!

  34. @Southernlass – You do realise that, given the weakness of the USD, that’s about the price of a glass of water a minute? 😀

  35. I’m not much of a dress or skirt person but two things you can never go wrong with: pants suites and pinstripes

  36. I just got a suit at Ross (dress for less) for $20. I wish I could afford the suits you got, those are so nice but my problem is that the pants part of a suit never fit me. So I have to physically do the shopping. I got shoes too, but I may have to return them. They are a little too tight — although when I tried them on in the store they were fine. Maybe its the humidity here. 

  37. I think you did a great job picking office appropriate clothing. I’m sure you’ll look great!Michael

  38. terrific choices.  very stylish

Leave a Reply

