The Arkansas Queen! They named a ship after me!

22 Comments

OK, not really, but it’s a cool thought!  Anyway, when I was at The Rivermarket a few weeks ago, locked out of my car, and only holding my camera, tripod, and cell phone, I had nothing better to do than take photos.  Since that is why I was there anyway, I decided to go ahead and do that!

There is an old steamboat that does short rides on the Arkansas River.

ArkansasQueen

I took tons of pictures of it, and while I was doing the usual crop and check routine, I realized, there are several ways these photos could be really cool.  I couldn’t decide which way I liked best, so I thought I would ask you.

Which one of these do you like the best?

Color Obviously….

ArkansasQueen1

Straight Black and White?

ArkansasQueenB&W

Sephia toned?

ArkansasQueenSephia

So which one do you like the best?

Author: Jill Stewart

I am a 37 -year-old woman from Arkansas who is happily married to a Scottish immigrant aka “the hubby” “the hubs” or if I am calling him directly “YO YOU!” We’ve been married for 3 years and it’s been a crazy ride, and unfortunately our finances have been beat to death in the last few years. We have two dogs and a cat, no kids. The Blog- What’ll you find: Financial Information as we try to become debt free My attempts at working and trying to maintain a home to the standards I like My adventures in learning how to sew Arts and craft projects Funny tidbits from my life including living with a Scottish person, the dogs, and other oddball things that happen to me. What you won’t find: Much on children. I don’t have kids and I can’t have kids. Recipes- I don’t mind cooking, but unless it’s something really special, don’t come here looking for the weekly recipe! You won’t find it- unless you ask my husband. If you’re interested in what you see, please follow me on Facebook or sign up for emails! Most of all, leave a comment or ask a question! I am always happy to hear from you!

22 thoughts on “The Arkansas Queen! They named a ship after me!

  1. I like sepia. It has an old feel to it.And please Jilly… quit posting pics of Arkansas!Coz it makes me want to go there NOW!

  2. @FreeeVerse – I can’t quit posting pictures of Arkansas.  I live in Arkansas, and there is not a lot else I can take photos of but things outside…unless you want to see the dog hair tumbleweeds that roll through my kitchen if I don’t sweep every day!

  3. @FreeeVerse – NOPE!  Just because of you, next time my photo posting will be a dog hair tumbleweed!

  4. @Southernlass – K. Just don’t be surprised if I say YUCK! Hahaha.

  5. The last one looks more periodly authenticx

  6. I can’t decide between sepia and classic black and white.

  7. I’m a sephia girl! 🙂 And no, your pics don’t look dark to me…

  8. I like the color one….but sepia’s cool too.

  9. ooooo…..dog hair dust bunnies!  now that would be an interesting photo montague!    loli think if you play with the brightness and contrast a liitle the sepia might look the best.  and it would fit sarahsd response.fyi…i have steps on my pick up so you can climb in easy. 

  10. @buddy71 – They aren’t dust bunnies, they are full blown tumbleweeds!I might play around a bit with the contrast and such.  I did those pretty quick last night…photoshop and vista do not seem to get along well on my laptop!  Grrrrr!LOL, even with steps, it’s still a big climb for me!  It’s why I drive compact cars!

  11. then i will just have to get you a rope ladder!   lolyou are not the first one that i have heard to be having vista problems.

  12. @buddy71 – I have a love hate relationship with Vista.  I am tempted to put XP back on my laptop and be done with Vista!

  13. i would say many of your pics look a liitle on the dark side.  even on my lap top.  maybe your camera needs some adjustment?   you could shoot the same scene at different exposures and see how the look on your monitor.

  14. @buddy71 – They all look fine on my monitor at home, that is why I am a bit confused.  Some peopel say they look fine, some people say they are too dark.  I am thinking it has to do with the monitor on which it is being viewed.

  15. yes i tink you could be right.

  16. Sepia makes it look like an old-timey steamboat. =) I like that one.

  17. I like the colored one… because of the red… it’s pretty. Just like the Arkansas Queen!

  18. I think the last one, the sepia, is the best!  It’s got that antique look to it like you would expect to see that pic in a history book!

  19. Black and white, I think.

Leave a Reply

