An Evening at the Saline River

15 Comments

My friend Kelly frequently calls me, more frequently since his Grandmother passed away.  He calls a lot and when I ask what he is doing, he answers with “sitting at the river” quite often.  I asked him last week if he would take me out there tonight to take some photos.  He agreed, and tonight, off we went!

We chit chat about the past and the present as we are driving to the river.  As we pull up to the river he says “Well, I hope there is room to park on the other side!”  I thought he was talking about the car that was already parked there.  He meant the other side of the river!

Saucereyes

See that other car?  That is where I THOUGHT we were parking.  However, where I am standing is where we parked.  Do you see a bridge?  Uh no.  He drove through the water.  Did he warn me?  No.  Did my eyes bug out of my head?  YES!  I might be from Arkansas, but that does not mean I am used to driving through rivers in a pick up truck!

He knew some of the other crazy people who drive through rivers for parking, so while he was talking to them, and after introducing me, I started taking other photos.  The sunlight was streaming through the trees and hitting the water in several spots.

Sunset on the water

He finally wrapped up his conversation with the people I am pretty sure were quite toasted, and we started our short hike down the riverbed.  I am really glad he insisted I wear jeans on this hike since we ended up actually hiking over and around various things.

Driftwood

Now, I am going to say three things.  First, it sucks when you have short legs and someone does not have a side plate to climb into their big ass truck.  Second, when the person is six inches taller than you and he just steps over the logs, it’s really an unfair advantage.  I am sure I looked completely graceful straddling logs like I was riding a horse and getting an occassional hand for balance.  Stupid short legs!  Third, man I love riding around in a truck with the windows down in Arkansas.  What I don’t love about it is having curly hair and trying to get the tangles out later.  OUCH.  Anyway…

We found a dead cow skull in the water…

Cowskulldriftwood

Ok, it was on another bank, and it’s not a dead cow skull, but it really did look like it from a distance.

We saw the reflection of the canopy above us in the water.

Canopyreflection

Along with sticks and leaves floating by.  There were also little minnows swimming around, but you can’t see them in this photo.

leaves

We both enjoyed the serenity that came from being in nature so far from everyone else.

bankshot

Most of all I enjoyed scaring the random drunk guy when we came out of the woods.  The phrase “HOLY SHIT where’d you come from???!!!” has never been so funny.  Jello shots were offered and declined.  Also, random drunk dude shook my hand and introduced himself.  He squeezed the ever loving beegezus out of my hand.  Either he was trying to make the fat jiggle on my upper arms, or he thought I was a man.  I am hoping he’s into arm fat jiggling.

P.S.  There are no new photos of Kelly because we tried to go to several different access points.  I was going to take photos of him at one of those, however, it must have been party central at the river because people were blocking the other access points with camping gear.

 

Author: Jill Stewart

I am a 37 -year-old woman from Arkansas who is happily married to a Scottish immigrant aka “the hubby” “the hubs” or if I am calling him directly “YO YOU!” We’ve been married for 3 years and it’s been a crazy ride, and unfortunately our finances have been beat to death in the last few years. We have two dogs and a cat, no kids. The Blog- What’ll you find: Financial Information as we try to become debt free My attempts at working and trying to maintain a home to the standards I like My adventures in learning how to sew Arts and craft projects Funny tidbits from my life including living with a Scottish person, the dogs, and other oddball things that happen to me. What you won’t find: Much on children. I don’t have kids and I can’t have kids. Recipes- I don’t mind cooking, but unless it’s something really special, don’t come here looking for the weekly recipe! You won’t find it- unless you ask my husband. If you’re interested in what you see, please follow me on Facebook or sign up for emails! Most of all, leave a comment or ask a question! I am always happy to hear from you!

15 thoughts on “An Evening at the Saline River

  1. The pictures make me wish I was at Niagua River in Southern Missouri on a float trip right now.

  2. Watch it wiggle,see it jiggle….funny about the arm fat!remember that Jell-o song?

  3. @StephanieMarie7891 – You can float this one too.  I should do that sometime!@seedsower – No, but I will take your word for it!  LOL

  4. mmmmmm…i can almost smell the air from looking at those photos.  such a nice palce to be.  thanks for sharing.

  5. I wish I could have been there with the both of you. *sigh* 

  6. Your reflection shots are great.  I really love the light in the water as well.Sounds like a nice night.  Brought back memories of my youth.*sniff*x

  7. Wow, those pictures are really great!I love the dead cow skull one. haha. I almost believed it was a skull for a minute!

  8. @buddy71 – It was nice!  I haven’t been to that access point before, or that river in years!!@FreeeVerse – I know!@sarahsD – Awwww.  I don’t feel too young this morning.  My ankles are being cranky about walking through beds of river rock!@sigma_C_eq – I swear it looked like a skull from a distance.  He even had to walk around and double check!

  9. You make me want to get off my butt and go outside with my camera.

  10. The woods are a wonderful place to unwind and get away from it all.  Well, unless you stay in “mouse cabin”*sparkle

  11. @harmony0stars – Well, go do it!@Sparkling_Rainbow – Mouse cabin…I’ll bring the lysol!  YUCK!

  12. ryc: i got into llamas so i could pack with them.  i not only do that but i show them and train them.  also i have learned to spin and use their fiber.  they do have a claming effect.

  13. I love these pictures.  they are fantastic!

  14. @buddy71 – Different hobby, but very interesting!@Blue_ButterflyBaby – Thanks!  I had a good time!

Leave a Reply

