Happy Birthday TIMMAH!!!!

10 Comments

My little brother Tim.  Ahhhh the joys of being raised with a younger brother.  He was so ugly when he was born, all red faced and looking like he did a 50 ft dash in a 30 foot gym.  (Memo to me:  BUY A SCANNER for some of these older photos.)  He brought me a Sesame Street mug when he was born though, so I guess he was pretty cool for that.

I don’t remember too much about him when he was a baby, I mean I turned 5 a mere 22 days after he was born, so I was busy and had far too many other thing to worry about than dealing with a stupid little brother.  Until he learned to walk.  Actually, in all truthfulness, I don’t even remember him learning how to walk.  I do remember him standing in his cowboy boots and training pants playing in the garden though.  Yes, that was all he was wearing, and yes, I still find that image particularly hilarious, especially since he would not be caught dead in cowboy boots now.

Then I remember what I like to call his pain in the ass phase.  The phase where I was quietly reading in my room and he would come in there to annoy me.  There were various forms of annoyance he liked to try on me.  One was just opening the door and making faces at me.  From this habit, I learned to ignore everything around me while reading.  His next tactic was to run into the room, quickly grab *insert favorite material possession of the moment*, and run away.  He knew I would chase him, and he knew that was the best way to get my attention.  His final act of desperation in order to get my attention was to refuse to leave my room.  He would lay down on his stomach, wrap his arms around my footboard, and hang on for dear life, while I stood behind him and yanked his ankles until he finally lost his grip.  Then he was dragged into the kitchen, released, and I ran for my room where I would lock the door, and get rid of that pesky little brat!!!!

We fought constantly.  I am pretty sure there were days the warriors of Sparta would have been proud of us.  I assisted in knocking out his front teeth and I assisted in cracking his head open twice.  Fists flew, legs kicked, and yelling ensued until a parent intervened.  After a normal brawl, Tim, ALWAYS kicked me in the back when I was walking away.  I ALWAYS turned around and beat him up again.  Funny how the person he ran to when some bully was picking on him at school was me…

Our teens years were better.  I think we actually grew closer out of maturity, and our parents divorce.  We still teased each other, but we grew closer than we ever were before.  We could tell each other jokes and laugh together.  It was certainly a new phase in our lives.  And now, now we have those same ole jokes, and same things that make us laugh at each other.

He’s 26 today, and no longer my baby brother.  He’s engaged, has a career, and takes life seriously, while still having fun.  He’s been to Iraq and he has seen more of the world than I have ever imagined seeing.  He’s grown up, but I still see him in those damn cowboy boots and training pants.

momtimkara

Tim the butthead, Mom, and Tim’s fiance’ Kara!

Author: Jill Stewart

I am a 37 -year-old woman from Arkansas who is happily married to a Scottish immigrant aka “the hubby” “the hubs” or if I am calling him directly “YO YOU!” We’ve been married for 3 years and it’s been a crazy ride, and unfortunately our finances have been beat to death in the last few years. We have two dogs and a cat, no kids. The Blog- What’ll you find: Financial Information as we try to become debt free My attempts at working and trying to maintain a home to the standards I like My adventures in learning how to sew Arts and craft projects Funny tidbits from my life including living with a Scottish person, the dogs, and other oddball things that happen to me. What you won’t find: Much on children. I don’t have kids and I can’t have kids. Recipes- I don’t mind cooking, but unless it’s something really special, don’t come here looking for the weekly recipe! You won’t find it- unless you ask my husband. If you’re interested in what you see, please follow me on Facebook or sign up for emails! Most of all, leave a comment or ask a question! I am always happy to hear from you!

10 thoughts on “Happy Birthday TIMMAH!!!!

  1. Reminds me of my sisters, same progression but slightly more violent and complicated (four girls within two years of each others’ age, bound to be messy, man). Very sweet.

  2. Ahh the memories.  You ought to do a picture of him in his cowboy boots and training pants and present it to his fiancee, better yet give it to them as a wedding present.  A happy birthday wish for him.  Reminds me a little of my younger brother and I.  Have a great weekend, Hugs.

  3. That reminds me of my younger sister.  She used to pick on me all the time, although her attacks were usually verbal.  I would retaliate with fists and such, so I was responsible for several beatings-up over the years.  Now we’re pretty good friends though.  Happy Birthday Tim!

  4. happy birthday to your baby brother, tim!    (no matter what age you and he are or will be, he will always be your “baby” brother.)i am an only child.  sometimes reading stories of those that had siblings, i wished i had siblings.  and other times….?   i am glad i was an only child.

  5. Awesome letter! I’d love to read his about you

  6. awwww…..happy birthday, Tim.

  7. Haha, thats so cool you have that kind of relationship with your brother. Gives me hope for when my monsters… Oops I mean brothers, grow up. Tell yours thank you so much for serving in Iraq, I know it can’t be easy. My brother will be leaving for boot camp the end of July. And tell him I said congrats on the engagement and happy birthday!Liz

  8. I hope that my daughter grows up to love her little brother this much.  right now, she cannot stand him.  She is 8 and he is 6 and to her, he is the king of annoying.  She uses the “I hate you” sentence very frequently with him.

  9. @relaxolgy – You would love to read what about me?  He sent letters to my grandparents when I was a kid and asked for a new sister every year!@lizheartshakespeare – Will do and thanks.  Tim and his fiance actually met in Iraq.@Blue_ButterflyBaby – I realized as I grew up, that he was only pestering me because he wanted attention.  of course try explaining that to a 9 and 5 year old…

Leave a Reply

