Opinion Poll- Drunk Neighbor Dave

32 Comments

I came home from my interview and discovered my front yard was mowed.  SWEET, now I don’t have to do it tonight.  However, I am afraid the culprit is Drunk Neighbor Dave.  Normally, I would be appreciative of this gesture, and actually I still am, however I feel with him there is the hidden motive factor.

He knows I am getting a divorce, and I have been avoiding going to his house at all costs.  He LOoOOOOOOOVES to hit on me when he is drunk, which absolutely disgusts me.  Apparently, I am beer goggle hot since he has been hitting on me since I was 14 years old….Sicko.

Although I appreciate the gesture, I figure my options are thus:

1.  Go and say thank you and make a mad dash for my house.

2.  Pretend like I didn’t notice and if he says anything, play the “OH Mom was coming over today, I thought maybe she did it” card.

3.  Phone a thank you, if I can remember his number!

Please enter your votes!

Author: Jill Stewart

I am a 37 -year-old woman from Arkansas who is happily married to a Scottish immigrant aka “the hubby” “the hubs” or if I am calling him directly “YO YOU!” We’ve been married for 3 years and it’s been a crazy ride, and unfortunately our finances have been beat to death in the last few years. We have two dogs and a cat, no kids. The Blog- What’ll you find: Financial Information as we try to become debt free My attempts at working and trying to maintain a home to the standards I like My adventures in learning how to sew Arts and craft projects Funny tidbits from my life including living with a Scottish person, the dogs, and other oddball things that happen to me. What you won’t find: Much on children. I don’t have kids and I can’t have kids. Recipes- I don’t mind cooking, but unless it’s something really special, don’t come here looking for the weekly recipe! You won’t find it- unless you ask my husband. If you’re interested in what you see, please follow me on Facebook or sign up for emails! Most of all, leave a comment or ask a question! I am always happy to hear from you!

32 thoughts on “Opinion Poll- Drunk Neighbor Dave

  1. Before I respond…wondering what this guy is like to you when he’s sober.

  2. Ekk, I wouldn’t call! That could be dangerous. I would go with the “i thought mom did it” excuse. But that’s me.

  3. I vote number 3. I don’t think I’d risk the house visit. o.O Not after the “hitting on me since I was 14” part..

  4. #3″beer goggle hot?”now that’s some funny terminology right there – LOL!!!

  5. @edlives – Polite and friendly….on the rare occassion he is sober.@Mirandasuzanne – He lives across the street.  It’s not like he can’t find me!

  6. @five11nation – A phrase I discovered after I realized lots of drunk men like to hit on me….only when they are drunk.  However, I cannot claim I made up this phrase.

  7. @Southernlass – #1 ONLY if you know he’s sober…otherwise opt for # 2…if he brings it up first….If he doesn’t bring it up at all…then go for #3….(it’s that whole polite thing…ugh)Good luck.

  8. I would phone and just keep it short.

  9. run over in the early morning and put a thank you note on his door.  that way if he sees you he possibly will be sober and if he doesn’t you won’t have to talk to him.

  10. hmmm thank you note in the mail box would be my suggestion as well.x

  11. OK he’s creepy. Since you were a minor? EEEWWWWWWW!!!!!!Since you don’t really know for a complete and absolute FACT it was him, you are under no obligation to say anything. If he mentions it you can say OH! It was you! Thanks but that really wasn’t necessary or something like that…..

  12. post it note on his front door 

  13. Leave a thank you note in his mailbox and RUNNNNNN!

  14. I like the note in the mail box. How creepy is that? You’ve lived in the same house since you were 14?? That’s what I find amazing.

  15. @bosefius – HAHAHHA.  I bought the house from my Dad.  I have moved in and out a few times, but I won’t be moving again if I can help it!I like the idea of leaving a note on the door!  That’s a great idea!

  16. Ignore it. If you don’t know he did it you have no reason to thank him.

  17. Number three, but I would ask him if he did it before doing so.

  18. I would ignore it till you know for sure it was him. If you are pretty sure, I vote for the note in the mailbox thing. Very short tho.

  19. I vote note in the mailbox, assuming you’re absolutely certain it was him.

  20. @VaultESL – I am more certain now…the porch was blown clean and so was the driveway…and his yard was mowed too >< /sigh

  21. I wouldn’t say anything unless he says something. If he doesn’t say anything, then you’re free and in the clear since there’s no way for you to be (absolutely) certain it was him. Besides, if you ask him, and he didn’t do it, that still wouldn’t stop him from claiming he did.

  22. i was going to say leave a note…but maybe mailing it would be better then you dont risk the chance meeting.  or call and leave a messege.sure enough…beer makes every one look better.  hahahahahaha      but then so does whisky, wine, vodka, etc.    lolewwwwwww…hitting on you since 14?!  even that grosses me out!   lolwhen do you hear about the job???

  23. Say nothing until he says something. For all he knows you could think it was someone at work or your brother. You might even be able to lie and say you thought it was me. Seeing has I am so bored without a lawn to mow anymore. If he does say something you owe him nothing more than a thankyou and leave it at that.

  24. Whatever you do, do gross, unsexy things as you are thanking him, ex: pick your nose, scratch your bum, laugh about running over a cat when you drove home…

  25. I’d go with the note on the door too.

  26. I say go with #2. It’s safe. And I agree with lovelyastrid…be as unflattering as you can. I don’t know if it will help, but it couldn’t hurt. Haha! 

  27. Personally, I’d do #2. We have a drunk neighbor, and if he’s outside I go as far as driving past my house and drive around until he’s gone.

  28. I would call when I knew he wasn’t home and leave a “thank you” voice mail!

  29. Phone a thank you, if u can remember his number!

  30. Thank u note…When u know he’s not home.

  31. I vote call and say thank you.  If you can’t remember his number, write a nice thank you note and stick it in his mail box or in his door, when you know he’s not home.

Leave a Reply

