I failed the 1930’s Housewife Test, THANK GOODNESS!

25 Comments

I found this 1930’s housewife quiz on Divine Diva in NC’s blog.

4

As a 1930s wife, I am
Very Poor (Failure)

Take the test!

 

I have to admit, I have honestly never been so glad to fail a test in my life.  Although some good things came out of the 1930’s, mostly Gone With the Wind and The Wizard of Oz, I don’t think I would have survived well in this era at all.  Perhaps had I been born into it, I would have been fine.  However, I have a sneaking feeling I would have been the “bad” girl neighbor down the street who didn’t *gasp* take Christmas cookies to the neighbors, or the one who got drunk at parties and told everyone what I really thought of them.

The other women would have called me bitchy, a flopperoo, or perhaps a good-time.  I would have been a swigger and I probably would have called all the other women a bunch of boobs for the way they lived.  (All 1920-1930’s slang can be found here.)

I cannot believe how much being a woman has changed in the last 78 years.  In the 30’s I would have been the town harlot, but today, those same actions would make me a typical college girl.  I’m honestly not sure if that is a good or a bad thing.  We were given the right to vote.  The freedom to buy clothes instead of sitting in front of a sewing machine all day.  We were given the freedom to go to work and to receive equal pay (although we know that one still needs work.) Women now have the freedom to have abortions.

I think of all these things and I wonder if women from generations past were magically teleported here alive and in their prime, if they would look at the women of today in awe and wonder, or shock and fear.  I wonder if they saw how we live today if they would have still had those three kids and sent them off into the world knowing what the future looked like.  I wonder if they would have pushed harder to keep all of those old family values in place.

It’s kind of hard for me to imagine losing the internet, my car, and knowing I can support myself.  I am glad I am not “required” in this day and age to have children.  That alone would have left me an utter failure of a woman.  I’m glad I can pick up a book, read it, and talk about it to other people of both sexes who are smart enough to understand it.  I’m glad I can be a “lady” in the living room and a “whore” in the bedroom because I have read up on ways to be both, from books that would probably make a woman from the 30’s pass out cold.  I like my life, and I am pretty darn happy with it.

I look back at them and think to myself “THANK GOODNESS I didn’t live like that!!!!”  I wonder if they looked at me would they say the same?

Author: Jill Stewart

I am a 37 -year-old woman from Arkansas who is happily married to a Scottish immigrant aka “the hubby” “the hubs” or if I am calling him directly “YO YOU!” We’ve been married for 3 years and it’s been a crazy ride, and unfortunately our finances have been beat to death in the last few years. We have two dogs and a cat, no kids. The Blog- What’ll you find: Financial Information as we try to become debt free My attempts at working and trying to maintain a home to the standards I like My adventures in learning how to sew Arts and craft projects Funny tidbits from my life including living with a Scottish person, the dogs, and other oddball things that happen to me. What you won’t find: Much on children. I don’t have kids and I can’t have kids. Recipes- I don’t mind cooking, but unless it’s something really special, don’t come here looking for the weekly recipe! You won’t find it- unless you ask my husband. If you’re interested in what you see, please follow me on Facebook or sign up for emails! Most of all, leave a comment or ask a question! I am always happy to hear from you!

25 thoughts on “I failed the 1930’s Housewife Test, THANK GOODNESS!

  1. I scored a 35 and was ranked Poor. I think I can get the score lower, but I doubt I shall ever attain the wonderfully low standard you have set.

  2. @saintvi – The funny thing is, I answered all of those questions honestly.  A lot of them that were negative is because I don’t have kids.

  3. Holy crap!  I got an 86- Someone shoot me (please!!!!). “Very Superior!”  I am soooo laughing!

  4. Okay this test must be skewed. I got a 74, Superior. I’m literally laughing out loud. I seriously think the number of children question was “weighted”. Looking at the explanation I think they multiplied the number of children you have times five and added that to your score. So I got a bonus 20 points. LOL  

  5. hmmmm 78 here….. agree with @bethro78 –  I think the children helped.Grumbles – what did she put that up there for?x

  6. @aj_mudd – Hahaha!  I never would have pegged you for a 30’s house wife either.  I’m calling BS and I think we should go get a beer!@bethro78 – Yeah, I am pretty sure the kids had a lot to do with it.  Can I borrow yours and see if I get a 24?  hahaha!@sarahsD – Because I am happy to be a failure when it comes to being a 1930’s housewife.

  7. @Southernlass – You certainly may borrow my children for that. lol

  8. I scored 53 ranking AVERAGE!  okay, I need to re-evaluate my marriage.  hubby is getting way too much out of this! 

  9. I got a 91.  Is that bad? 

  10. @Blue_ButterflyBaby – ahahahaha!@tx_christian – Why would it be bad?  It’s just how you look at things.  it just happens to be almost the exact extreme difference between how you and I look at it! 😉

  11. Yeah, I use to put “housewife” for dream occupation just to piss off my liberal English professor. She was like, “Is that all you want for yourself??” and I was like, “You mean there’s more to life than the kitchen?”

  12. I’d probably flunk it, too, since I want to be a career woman.

  13. I almost took this, even though I’m not married. I figured no matter what it told me I’d be amused. Who would of guessed there wasn’t a category for a 1930s gay husband? I mean really. 

  14. @uber_ghey – LOL!  Maybe more topics for a spoof!  Maybe I just have hung around too many gay men in my life and the material comes way too easy for me.

  15. @Southernlass – That would be an excellent spoof. Have you ever heard of a musical called Dirty Little Showtunes? It’s a bunch of song parodies, mostly slightly…homosexual in nature. Rather amusing though. Songs like…I Am The Very Model of a Modern Homosexual.

  16. 125 and I almost feel as if I should be ashamed? I don’t know if it’s a good thing to score highly or not 😦

  17. @Tigster – No, I went and read the questions for the men.  I think most of those traits were admirable in men…Not that the women questions weren’t admirable, just not reflective of my life AT ALL, hence the 4. ><

  18. @Southernlass – Thank God – At least I know that I’m single for no good reason rather than for being a complete and utter arsehole 🙂

  19. LMAO!! OMG, I just scored…you ready for this? a -14!!!!  Whoa!  I guess they didn’t like the red polish and beer drinking answers…

  20. @Tigster – Pft.  I don’t know you well enough to pick you apart.  You’re not too old to be single.  And you should have gotten the nurse’s phone number!

  21. @macphoto – I am guessing not!  I am pretty sure the only thing that kept me in positive numbers is the fact that I can play an instrument!

  22. @Southernlass – I’m divorced if that counts (damn, not even my fault, she was having waaaaaaay more sex than I was – I’m doomed to be a good ‘um I guess!) and the phone number? I’ve got the whole nurse again for a second night of obs.

  23. @Tigster – Boooo on your ex-wife, awesome on round two with the nurse!

  24. @Southernlass – I’m trying to convince her of the importance sexual therapy at the moment but I’m losing.

  25. @Tigster – You are such a horn dog.  I am glad she is telling you heeeeellll to the naw!

Leave a Reply

