Country music- The Redneck in me.

25 Comments

I get a little frustrated with people from time to time in regards to country music.  When people ask me what kind of music I like, and I say pretty much everything except for gangsta rap (I see no point in cussing to a beat) and scream rock…WTF is up with that stuff anyway, then I mean I LIKE every other kind of music.  Oh wait, I am not a huge fan of techno/electronica/club music either. I will listen to rock, Broadway show tunes, oldies, disco, classic rock, and country.  I might even listen to them all in the same day!

However, people will tell me they like all kinds of music with no disclaimer that they dislike country.  Then a little later, I find out the truth, and that truth is most of the people I know HATE country music.  Honestly, I don’t understand WHY.  These are things I like about country music:

1.  Country music has some of the best STORIES in it ever written for the music industry.  If you can think of a topic involving real life, you are probably going to be able to find a country song about it.  This is the best reason to like country music in my opinion.  Some great examples of this are:

Brad Paisely-  Little Moments

Rascal Flatts-  Broken Road

2.  Country music has more female artists than most other genres.  I turn on the rock stations a lot locally, and I have noticed over and over and over it is different songs by different men.  Not that I dislike men singing, but hours and hours of listening to relatively the same timber of voice gets a little old for me.  Some of my favorite female country singers:

Dolly Parton:  I love the song, Why’d you come in here looking like that.  Dolly just has great songs all around.

Faith Hill- She sings some of the best love songs I have heard.

Carrie Underwood- She may be young, and she may have been an American Idol winner, but she is a damn good singer, and her songs range all kinds of topics.

3.  The women in country music are generally good role models.  They’ll tell you not to put up with letting a man beat you, and finally they will talk about being in love or raising their kids.  Some examples:

Miranda Lambert- Gunpowder and Lead, that’s all I am saying.  Oh, and the fact that my friend Tammy called me a redneck for liking that song.

Taylor Swift- She has some of the best love songs I have heard lately, especially for someone her age.

Reba McEntire- She has a great duet out right now about raising kids through a divorce.  I actually tear up sometimes when I hear it.

 

I love country music.  I do.  I love it when people say “I ain’t gonna” in a song even though the words would never leave my mouth in serious conversation.  Even though I was a music education major, I love hearing people chew their words while singing country.  As in WhatCHEW gonna do?  So people, stop hatin’,  start saying ain’t, and tapping those toes!

Disclaimer:  Don’t really say ain’t.  It makes my ears bleed.

 

Author: Jill Stewart

I am a 37 -year-old woman from Arkansas who is happily married to a Scottish immigrant aka “the hubby” “the hubs” or if I am calling him directly “YO YOU!” We’ve been married for 3 years and it’s been a crazy ride, and unfortunately our finances have been beat to death in the last few years. We have two dogs and a cat, no kids. The Blog- What’ll you find: Financial Information as we try to become debt free My attempts at working and trying to maintain a home to the standards I like My adventures in learning how to sew Arts and craft projects Funny tidbits from my life including living with a Scottish person, the dogs, and other oddball things that happen to me. What you won’t find: Much on children. I don’t have kids and I can’t have kids. Recipes- I don’t mind cooking, but unless it’s something really special, don’t come here looking for the weekly recipe! You won’t find it- unless you ask my husband. If you’re interested in what you see, please follow me on Facebook or sign up for emails! Most of all, leave a comment or ask a question! I am always happy to hear from you!

25 thoughts on “Country music- The Redneck in me.

  1. I enjoy Bluegrass.  Modern country music, though, just seems wanting….

  2. They honestly do NOT really play country music here in NY, at all.  It’s not big here…however, today whilst in the car I was “scanning” stations and I heard that older Carrie Underwood song…”before he cheats”…I cannot control myself from keeping that one on still, and secretly singing at the top of my lungs in my car (windows closed/ac on).  I’ve always thought that song was fabulous.

  3. I don’t’ like country music, with a few notable exceptions. You don’t like rap, I don’t like country, you’re a little bit country, I’m a little bit rock n roll. Music is so personal to people – everyone has their preferences. I can tell you why I like rap – lol perhaps it shall be a blog – and I can tell you that I think people write off rap and hip hop as fast as you think people write off country music. 

  4. @JandJinJapan – Awww, that’s sad!@ilsurvive – I like that song, and Last Name.  It’s great.@squeakysoul – Don’t misunderstand.  I don’t dislike rap or hip hop.  I actually listen to quite a bit of hip hop, and I still like R & B.  I dislike gangsta rap.  I see no reason to write a song about shooting the police or slapping around hoes.  Perhaps it is because my father was a police officer for over 20 years and there were nights after my parents divorced that I actually worried about whether or not he WOULD come home.  YAY for HBO specials about gangs in Little Rock…. -.-

  5. I don’t like country music, but I understand why some people do. 🙂

  6. I don’t listen to it that much, but country music is cool. I agree about Dolly Parton. “Jolene, Jolene, Jolene, Joleeeeene…”

  7. I feel you!!! I grew up with country music…and even though I switched to pop/rock, and contemporary, some days that music just doesn’t do it for me…and I go back to my country roots! I’m not a big female artist fan, but country music female artists are definitely some of the best female artists out there. I enjoy male artists a lot more — no idea why!!! LOL

  8. @divinity2B – The funny thing about the artists for me is, I am a music snob to an extent.  MOST of my music collection is Broadway or Classical in nature.  For some reason though to me, women generally have a lot more range with their voices.  Men pretty much are forced to stay in a baritone, tenor, bass, or falsetto range, whereas women can be alto, soprano, coloratura sopranos, and my personal favorite…the belter.  I think that is why I tend to enjoy women more.  Perhaps it is because I also like to sing and it is easier to sing a long with them. 🙂 

  9. I didn’t like country music until I got alot older. And like you I like the stories.There’s a purpose behind the songs that are sung. And alot of old country ( which I like) have morals in them. Christina

  10. @ilsurvive – me tooo! It’s a fun song to sing too!

  11. I’m not ordinarily a big fan of country music, although listening to any form of music is okay with me. I have found, though, that there are a few country songs that I actually like.

  12. I like some country… mostly Johnny Cash. I probably like something in every kind of music there is, including genres that I don’t particularly like, like techno or rap. I think there’s always an exception to any rule.

  13. I like some country.  I love Blake Shelton, Reba McEntire, George Strait.  I even like some of the older country artists like George Jones (he is the man!) and Conway Twitty.

  14. I like some country too. I find it hard to listen to something really twangy, if that’s even a word. But I do like that generally there is a point and/or story to the song. I can’t stand (c)rap. Ick. I usually can’t even understand what they’re saying..I like Rascal Flatts! That um, Sara Beth? Something like that. The really sad one. 😥

  15. @Southernlass – I also sing a lot…although I like to harmonize when I listen to music. For me it’s often easier to harmonize with guys (group or single) than with a female.

  16. I’d enjoy country music …If you paid me to.

  17. I love the country artists who had the rather shady pasts: Johnny Cash, Loretta Lynn and Patsy Cline! Talk about pain and angst.

  18. I’m from Tennessee. Country music is all over the area. Yet, in the younger generation country music is slowly starting to get pushed away (- more so in larger schools.) It almost angers me to have people say things like “Oh, it’s Tennessee, there must be a lot of hicks sitting around drinking beer and listening to country music on the radio by a fire in their back yard.” No, not at all. Personally, I like most music. There isn’t a single genre that I can’t find a song in that I will end up liking… the only problem is that I listen to the song repetitively until it does, in fact, get old.Nonetheless, nice post.-CrazyKey123

  19. some country music is indeed quite gd, but diff to find many

  20. i daresay those loving this kind of music usually are virtuous. & fans of country music are , in most case, female?

  21. most of the country music I’ve heard is very depressing. I used to work as an electrician and contractors tend to employ a lot of rednecks, my ex-employer included, which means they like to listen to country music all day long. I used to work with one of my friends and he hated it so he would blast death metal as loud as he could from the van to drown it out. needless to say, we got kicked off the job site and he was reprimanded by the boss..

  22. @tinahawt – LOL you punk!@CrazyKey123 – I’m from Arkansas.  I am soooo beyond aware of the stereotype of the south!@jodi_elf – I think you would find an equal amount of men and women country fans.  It’s a pretty huge genre of music.  I doubt I would say most of the country fans out there are virtuous.  I guess it would depend on which virtue you are referring to.@mattminnaminna – WOW…your friend was a jerk.  Why is it that “redneck” is the term associated with country music.  I honestly don’t consider myself a redneck, although I have my moments.  Most of the time I listen to classical stuff, but occassionally I listen to country. 

  23. like u, I listen to a WIDE variety of music… But I love country!  There are too many good artists out there to limit the list to the few u have chosen…

  24. country music has started to mix with a little rock n’ roll, and some of it’s good music. But I just want to make sure it stays country. Down home country.The people who say country music is about your dog dyin’ and your girl leavin’ have probably never listened to a full song through, or don’t have real lives.

  25. @aj_mudd – I know, it was written off of the top of my head.  I could probably send down and make a really stupidly long list.@unoriginally_me – I agree!  It’s part of the great story telling that goes on!

Leave a Reply

