Anti-graffiti? More photos from my outing.

14 Comments

Yesterday while on my photography expedition, the first thing I noticed when I got out of my car was a bunch of graffiti under a bridge.  I immediately whipped out the camera and walked over to it, thinking I would just take a few photos and move on.  I was not that lucky.

It seems a group of children in 1992 painted several murals underneath the bridge in an effort to cover up the graffiti that was already there.

(Sidenote:  These photos have been punched up significantly.  The murals had a lot of fading in them that did not translate well into photos.)

artproject6

This was the first scene I came across.  I’ve been staring at this photo for quite some time, and I can’t decide what it is.  The man on the bottom is wearing a crown, so it makes me think maybe this is a drawing of ancient Egypt.  Maybe it is a tribe in Africa.  I’m honestly not too sure!

artproject

I loved the colors of the signatures from these kids.  They signed all of the pillars, but left the large flat spaces for the murals.

artproject1

Now, I am pretty positive that his is Africa.  See?  There is a zebra on the left, I THINK monkeys towards the middle since they don’t have faces, and an elephant on the right.  Super cute.

artproject2

There are more signatures on this post.

artproject5

And a lovely mountain in front of a setting sun.

artproject3

They signed here too, and honestly, this one is my favorite signature post.

artproject7

There are tribesmen fighting…I think they are fighting the cat.  Look at the man on the right.  His face is bleeding.  Detailed little kids aren’t they?!

artproject4

And this last photo I don’t think came from the same project.  It was on the sidewalk in front of the murals.  For all I know it is a gang sign, but I thought it was kind of cute.

artproject8

I have to admit I was kind of astonished that these murals were made in 1992 and they are still there.  I imagine they were covering up old graffiti.  It kind of surprises me that the kind of people who would paint graffiti would leave this alone.  I am so glad they have.

Author: Jill Stewart

I am a 37 -year-old woman from Arkansas who is happily married to a Scottish immigrant aka “the hubby” “the hubs” or if I am calling him directly “YO YOU!” We’ve been married for 3 years and it’s been a crazy ride, and unfortunately our finances have been beat to death in the last few years. We have two dogs and a cat, no kids. The Blog- What’ll you find: Financial Information as we try to become debt free My attempts at working and trying to maintain a home to the standards I like My adventures in learning how to sew Arts and craft projects Funny tidbits from my life including living with a Scottish person, the dogs, and other oddball things that happen to me. What you won’t find: Much on children. I don’t have kids and I can’t have kids. Recipes- I don’t mind cooking, but unless it’s something really special, don’t come here looking for the weekly recipe! You won’t find it- unless you ask my husband. If you’re interested in what you see, please follow me on Facebook or sign up for emails! Most of all, leave a comment or ask a question! I am always happy to hear from you!

14 thoughts on “Anti-graffiti? More photos from my outing.

  1. That’s realy cool. hmmm….not a bad idea…gets one to think.

  2. I dont know whats wrong with me …I love graffiti.The movie American Graffiti is so good! “Happy Days” was made after the movie.

  3. I love these. I should go on a street art hunt here in Cape Town.

  4. Graffiti is what kids/ teenagers do to escape from their emotions and deal with themselves because mommy is too busy doing back-to-back shifts at work. Some kids are really talented and it’s a shame that they probably wont be going to some liberal arts college. Good pics! 

  5. I love all of them! LOVE ‘EM! Youre awesome. Im taking my kids Tuesday to take some of all of them and go check out some new locations. That place you went is freakin awesome.

  6. @awth44 – I thought it was a great idea.@seedsower – I think some graffiti is kind of cool.  it just annoys me when it is not really art, but junk to mark gang territories etc.@VaultESL – Me or them? 😛@Zeal4living – It was actually kind of fun!@Mizmazed – I am glad you liked them.  I have seen some amazing graffiti…and yes, it IS too bad some of those kids won’t do anything with it.@Consenttotreatment – Thanks a ton. I am glad you like them!  The place was awesome except for the homeless people pestering me, but meh, what can you do?

  7. @Southernlass – You could have kicked em.

  8. @Southernlass – Kick and RUN!

  9. @Consenttotreatment – Ok, a totally horrible thought came to mind…I am trying not to type it…but….can’t stop…They’re homeless…that mens thinner than me and able to run faster!  No way!

  10. @Southernlass – ROFLMAO!

  11. love children’s works^^ in hk, we can’t do much on graffiti. mostly people paint on street wall for very specific purpose. i wish i had a chance to do some arts on streets still. there is graffiti at industrial areas, some opens , under the bridges though.

Leave a Reply

