Not everyone is a Dooce- I didn’t realize it would be this long.

12 Comments

Not everyone in this world can be a dooce or a Pioneer Woman .  We all can’t be the famous blogger I am sure some of us would like to be.  We can’t all sit at home and solely rely on income from our blogs to support our family financially.  I don’t begrudge the people who do make money, I am happy that they can make money by doing something they love.

I personally have gone through times in my life when I let what people said or did on the internet effect me.  I mean, honestly, there were real people behind those words, and so they must have meant every single thing they said or did right?  If a particular person was an asshole online, then he must be an asshole in real life and not worth my time….right?  If someone didn’t comment on a post, there might have been a few times it hurt my feelings.  If someone commented on a post I didn’t think was that great, I would stare at it and wonder if the person just felt sorry for me and posted something, or if I missed my own amazing ability to impress someone with something so small…*cough*

I censored myself for so long, that I actually felt smothered a bit on Xanga.  I felt like I couldn’t let it out or say what I had to say because someone somewhere I might know, could possibly maybe read it, and then I would have to deal with the fall out from there.  Then I woke up one day told myself I didn’t give a crap what anyone else thought and started writing what I wanted to write.  I had my (well, what I think is funny) funny moments.  I had my whole WAH WAH WAH embarrassing emo moments over fertility issues.  I talked about my family here and there, and things other Xangans have done.  I talked about Xanga.

Guess what?  Everyone didn’t hate me.  Some people thought I was funny, some think I am nuts, and some people think I am a crazy bitch!  Some people subscribed and some even went so far as to send a friend invite, which I happily accepted!  I have even received a few personal messages from people who thanked me for a post I made on a certain day because of how it effected them.  (That was an honor) I am OK with all of those things.  Why?

I am not here for them, although I enjoy and like the people who come here…I am not here to dominate the featured weblogs or photos, although it is an honor when I make it.  I am not here to worry that every single person who might think about wanting to maybe think about clicking on my link is going to like everything I have to say.  I am here for me, and the things I enjoy like writing, photography, and meeting new people.

I hope I don’t lose site of the fact that this is for me, and that I frequently remind myself how I am lucky that people I know in the real world and online happen to stop by at all. That it is not important if I have 3,000+ hits per week, or that every person leave a comment, but that I try to answer everyone who does.  I hope years from now, I will remember that I wrote this, and still be thankful that anyone stops by to read the weird stuff I come up with.  I hope I will remember that the time others have given me here, whether it is once a day, or once ever, was a gift, because they didn’t have to come by at all.

Author: Jill Stewart

I am a 37 -year-old woman from Arkansas who is happily married to a Scottish immigrant aka “the hubby” “the hubs” or if I am calling him directly “YO YOU!” We’ve been married for 3 years and it’s been a crazy ride, and unfortunately our finances have been beat to death in the last few years. We have two dogs and a cat, no kids. The Blog- What’ll you find: Financial Information as we try to become debt free My attempts at working and trying to maintain a home to the standards I like My adventures in learning how to sew Arts and craft projects Funny tidbits from my life including living with a Scottish person, the dogs, and other oddball things that happen to me. What you won’t find: Much on children. I don’t have kids and I can’t have kids. Recipes- I don’t mind cooking, but unless it’s something really special, don’t come here looking for the weekly recipe! You won’t find it- unless you ask my husband. If you’re interested in what you see, please follow me on Facebook or sign up for emails! Most of all, leave a comment or ask a question! I am always happy to hear from you!

12 thoughts on “Not everyone is a Dooce- I didn’t realize it would be this long.

  1. Amen sister, you said it!::tosses the censors overboard:: Yeah…I’m done censoring myself too…if people don’t like it…well…pfft..I don’t care.

  2. You just keep doing whatever you like. I only subscribe to real people who have real opinions.

  3. I couldn’t make money off of blogging. Although, if I had the TIME… keep up the good work

  4. Good for you.  You’re laying it on the line. But I wonder about folks being the same in real life as they are online.  I’ve always thought of people online as being like people in cars.  Some of the nicest people can become jerks when they get behind a wheel.  They figure they’re protected by all that glass and steel, I guess.I think some people online change personalities, since they are protected by distance and a certain amount of anonymity.  Just a theory. Now I’m gonna show my ignorance.  What’s a dooce?   And what’s pioneer women got to do with all this?

  5. @dsullivan – Dooce and Pioneer Woman are people who blog.  Dooce is ranked pretty high as one of the most popular websites EVER.  Both she and her husband stay at home full time and her blog supports her family.  Pioneer Woman does make some money, but she uses it to pay for the site and does lots and lots of free give aways of some pretty cool stuff there.  She is my favorite other blogger out there!  If you click their names in the link above you can go there.  Dooce is a little more “edgy”, and I think Pioneer Woman is a little more “fun” overall.  I’ve always considered the internet a room with no windows.  You can do or act however you want without worrying that anyone will see “you”.  However, this is as much the real me as anyone can get without meeting me in person.  I think I am funny, a bit flirty, a bit serious…well I am a woman so I am entitled to be all of those things at once.  However, mostly, I like to have fun, and if I can do that here and other people join in, that makes me a happy person! 😀

  6. @Viktorious1 – Thanks!  I just want to see people write what they like for them…and not to make others happy!@harmony0stars – And oh boy do I have opinions!@adifferentkindofbeautiful – I am honestly surprised people make money from blogging.  It was a shock to me to find out that blogging is actually a paying career for some!  I am glad they are able to do it though!

  7. Your blog is just that…your blog!  It is for you, by you and above all else should please you.*sparkle

  8. I come on here to blog and catch up with my subs and friends.  I pay no attention to the ones that are hateful or whatever.  They are not worth my time. lol

  9. @Blue_ButterflyBaby – *whew* Glad I am not hateful…I think! XD

  10. Great post.  We all censor ourselves and it is about time people started trying to be a little more open and honest. 

  11. @wearywalden – It’s not just that.  It is the people I see who are constantly posting that they want to be popular, or have a ton of comments here.  It doesn’t matter to me, and I think people are forgetting that their blog is supposed to be for them. 🙂

  12. @Southernlass – yeah, I see that too sometimes.  It seems like blogs with real honest emotion do get the best responses overall.

Leave a Reply

