Blanchard Springs Caverns

11 Comments

When the group of us went out a few weeks ago to the Scottish festival and what not, we realized we were really close to these caverns.  We decided to head on the “short” read 1.5 hours out of the way detour.  We were lucky enough to get there in time for one of the tours, so I thought I would share a few of those photos with you.

Blanchardsprings caverns

This formation is in what is called the Cathedral Room.  It’s huge!!!  It’s also acoustically perfect and they have live Christmas concerts in there.  I would really like to go and see that this year!

Blanchardsprings2

There are small pools of water throughout the entire cavern.  Thank goodness there were no creepy crawlie albino bugs on the tour!

Blanchardsprings3

This is a room called the Straw Room.  There are tons of little teeny tiny formations starting on the ceiling in this room, as well as some bigger stalactites and stalagmites.

BlanchardSprings1

Last but not least.  That ladies and gentlemen, is a big pile of bat poo.  I bet you are glad you stuck around for that eh?

Author: Jill Stewart

I am a 37 -year-old woman from Arkansas who is happily married to a Scottish immigrant aka “the hubby” “the hubs” or if I am calling him directly “YO YOU!” We’ve been married for 3 years and it’s been a crazy ride, and unfortunately our finances have been beat to death in the last few years. We have two dogs and a cat, no kids. The Blog- What’ll you find: Financial Information as we try to become debt free My attempts at working and trying to maintain a home to the standards I like My adventures in learning how to sew Arts and craft projects Funny tidbits from my life including living with a Scottish person, the dogs, and other oddball things that happen to me. What you won’t find: Much on children. I don’t have kids and I can’t have kids. Recipes- I don’t mind cooking, but unless it’s something really special, don’t come here looking for the weekly recipe! You won’t find it- unless you ask my husband. If you’re interested in what you see, please follow me on Facebook or sign up for emails! Most of all, leave a comment or ask a question! I am always happy to hear from you!

11 thoughts on “Blanchard Springs Caverns

  1. Beautiful! I used to go spelunking! Theree is nothing qquite as nice as sitting in a cave with your head lamp on and wathcing the bats fly back and forth through the light. Thanks for sharing the great pictures!

  2. my son loved to go into those caves and we went to the one on I35 and also down near San Antonio-The Natural ? forgot the name -he just really liked it when he was like 10yrs and up

  3. Never been there. I’ve been to Devil’s Den several times though. When the boys get bigger we’ll have to go to Blanchard Springs.I see you are moving along in the Anita Blake series. Are you enjoying it?

  4. @angi1972 – OH no…I don’t think I would like the bats flying over my head!@jillcarmel – I have enjoyed going there over the years.  We had to take the shorter tour, but it was still a lot of fun!@bethro78 – I think they would love going there.  Thomas and Alex are certainly big enough to go now and enjoy it!I am loving the series.  I am going to have to order several more of them to keep up.  I went through the last book in less than 24 hours.

  5. I love caves… all that living rock. It amazes me that people can say the earth isn’t alive when caves show that it clearly is capable of growth. I wish I could go spelunking in some as yet undiscovered cave. I hate visiting commercial caves and being shown everything. I’d just like to look and drink all the beauty in.In ancient times, people would go down into cave as a religious experience. When they came back up, they were considered reborn. It was an initiatory experience like a baptism. Caves were called omphalos… the navel of the goddess.

  6. OMG, I live not far from there…I mean my house in Ar is not that far, clearly Germany is a bit further.   We used to try to drive up there once a year and we used to camp at Devil’s Den. Wow, maybe I do miss home.

  7. @indigolady – Come back to the south…everyone misses it…except in July and August!

  8. ROFL, funny you should say that I’m coming home at the end of the month to do some stuff to the house.  I’ll be around if you want to get some enchiladas!

  9. @indigolady – Weehaaa for Mexican food!  It’s my favorite.  I am closer to Little Rock, but I would consider a drive.  Send a message to me and we’ll chat about it!

  10. @Southernlass – okay, I’ll message you when I get more details. 

Leave a Reply

