Things you might or might not know about me

9 Comments

Things you might or might not know about me:

1.  I could drink sweet tea every single day all day long.  I love it.  NO LEMON.

2.  I had everything I needed to play in the WNBA except the height.  I’m only 5’3 & 1/2.  (Yes, I get to add my half inch.)

3.  I wear shoes with some kind of heels everyday because I am only 5’3 & 1/2.  When I take off my sandals, my boss calls it “stepping off the ledge”.

4.  I have never been “thin” or “skinny”, but I could leg press over 500lbs. when I worked out regularly.

5.  I could eat shrimp pretty much all the time, but Mexican is my favorite food.

6.  I read AT LEAST a book a week, but most times, I read 2-3 in a week.

7.  I hate to talk about politics, because at the end of the day, two people discussing it over coffee is not going to fix anything, so it seems like a waste of time to me.

8.  I love to talk about religion.  Even though I don’t agree with most organized religions, I love to learn about them.

9.  I used to ride horses and jump fences.  I miss this a lot.

10.  I played softball for 12 years before I finally outgrew it, and it was by far my favorite sport.

11.  I have 9 nephews and 1 niece.  As much as I love ALL of them, none of them are directly my blood relatives.  My brother and I are the only kids in the family without children!

12.  If I could have a pack of Harquelin pattern Great Danes I would.

13.  I play flute and teach lessons.  My last flute student just graduated, so I guess I need to find some new ones!

14.  I can listen to almost any piece of music and tell you what time signature it is written in.  I’m a geek like that.

15.  When I read The Shining it scared me so bad that I dog eared it, threw it across the room, and slept with my light on.  I couldn’t walk past a moving bush for a month after that without jumping.  I was 16 when I read it.

16.  I have watched every single special feature on all of the Lord of the Rings Dvd’s.  All of them.  Multiple times.

17.  The only shows on TV I go out of my way to watch are CSI: Las Vegas, House M.D., and Heroes.  I also watch The Girls Next Door, and What Not to Wear, but only if I happen to catch them on.

18.  All of my pets have geographical names, Ontaria (A on the end is on purpose), Sydney, Chad, and Paris.

19.  I collect fairies.

20.  One day I want a library in my house.  A real library so that no matter how often I read, I don’t ever have to worry about running out of books.

Author: Jill Stewart

I am a 37 -year-old woman from Arkansas who is happily married to a Scottish immigrant aka “the hubby” “the hubs” or if I am calling him directly “YO YOU!” We’ve been married for 3 years and it’s been a crazy ride, and unfortunately our finances have been beat to death in the last few years. We have two dogs and a cat, no kids. The Blog- What’ll you find: Financial Information as we try to become debt free My attempts at working and trying to maintain a home to the standards I like My adventures in learning how to sew Arts and craft projects Funny tidbits from my life including living with a Scottish person, the dogs, and other oddball things that happen to me. What you won’t find: Much on children. I don’t have kids and I can’t have kids. Recipes- I don’t mind cooking, but unless it’s something really special, don’t come here looking for the weekly recipe! You won’t find it- unless you ask my husband. If you’re interested in what you see, please follow me on Facebook or sign up for emails! Most of all, leave a comment or ask a question! I am always happy to hear from you!

9 thoughts on “Things you might or might not know about me

  1. The best thing is a rainy day and a stack of good books just waiting ,you get to pick one and read it.

  2. I did not know that about time signatures! lol I totally agree about the politics over coffee. Most people just spout what they heard someone else say too instead of having an original opinion.

  3. @seedsower – Agreed…except rainy days and reading tends to make my rainy day narcolepsy kick in. ; ; @bethro78 – The depths of my music dorkiness have no bounds!  I actually shocked my sight singing and ear training professor at college because I figured out 11/8 in like 2 measures of listening.

  4. I thought fairies are as bad as gnomes? Did you jump the fences or did the horse?

  5. @Zeal4living – Haha the fairies are totally different from gnomes.  AND haha on the fence jumping.  The horse did all the work, I was just lucky to go along for the ride.  Lucky until he started refusing stuff and left me hanging upside down, with a handful of mane, and my other leg sticking straight up in the air.  I didn’t fall off!  In hindsight though, had an instructor not been there, I probably would have HAD to fall off in order to get back up!

  6. oh my goodness…sweet tea is glorious!  we don’t have it up here, but i went to OK over spring break and fell into a whole new love….sweet tea.  now i really want some!!!! …but can’t really get it anymore…

  7. mmm sweet tea. I put about 2-3 cups of sugar in one pitcher for me. I like it sweet!

  8. @smiling_spunk – Well, you should make it yourself!  It’s not hard, but it is addictive!@StephanieMarie7891 – You are like me.  You want tea flavored syrup!  Ha!  I have cut my sugar back to 1 cup per gallon because I am trying to be a bit more healthy, and I can’t find an artifical sweetner that tastes good when you make it by the gallon.  Which I drink by myself.  In like…3 days. 😉

Leave a Reply

