Final Photos from the Scottish Festival

10 Comments

flag

The Scottish flag flew high above many of the vendor tents.

bluesky

This school had some serious Scottish pride.  Even its weathermane held a bagpiper.

I wonder if this is the man who started it all?

kilts7

OK OK OK.  There were kilts involved.  Women in kilts, babies in kilts, and of course men in kilts.

kilts2

Doesn’t this guy look like he is giving a lecture before a football game?  It’s just a bag piping competition coach.  It’s ok.  Calm down!

kilts3

More pipers.

kilts1

Pipers!  See, this school has a bagpipers competition.  People come from all over the U.S. for it.  I thought it was pretty cool to see group competitors in their own colors and uniforms competiting!

kilts4

Unlike our sheep herding demonstrator, these guys are wearing socks that ARE the right length!  The bag pipers were in the more modern day traditional formal kilts.  However, there were others in the older traditional style of dressed up.  Incidentally, these are my favorite for some unexplained reason.

kilts

The bag on the front is called a sporran.  It is kind of a….ummmm….not that it isn’t manly….but it’s a purse.

kilts5

kilts6

See how some of them have daggers stuck in their socks?  There were quite a few weapons roaming around that day!  This photo actually reminded me that this event should be held later in the year…or they should hand out sunglasses for all the manly white legs you see!!!

As the day went on we finally managed to find the sporting events.  I could not for the life of me figure out which event this really was.  The closest thing I could find is that maybe this is a variation of a sheaf toss but without using a pitchfork.  There was a pitchfork in the ground nearby. so maybe this was it.  I don’t know.

The object of the sport is to take a ball on a chain and throw it up and over a bar above your head.  Kind of like pole vaulting, but instead you throw this heavy ball over.  After each successful round the pole is raised.

This guy was getting ready for his toss.  It’s the only reason I took this photo…I swear. (and you shouldn’t look at his arm muscles, because seriously, they are hideous and awful to look at.  Really.)

boyohboy2

boyohboy

They actually swing the ball inbetween their legs before they start the upwards toss.

boyohboy3

See?  It’s not that different from football except this guy is cheating and wearing stuff under his kilt!  BOOOOOO!!!!!!

Then there is a collective gasp from the crowd as we waited to see if this huge ball went over the pole or landed on his head.

boyohboy1

I think he missed.

So, after looking at all of these pictures that I am sure you are tired of by now, I just have one question for you that I saw on a bumper sticker:

bumpersticker

Next up in the photo diary:

Why Jeremy and John cannot fly a kite with their mouths closed.  You’ll get the exclusive right here.

kiteflying

Author: Jill Stewart

I am a 37 -year-old woman from Arkansas who is happily married to a Scottish immigrant aka “the hubby” “the hubs” or if I am calling him directly “YO YOU!” We’ve been married for 3 years and it’s been a crazy ride, and unfortunately our finances have been beat to death in the last few years. We have two dogs and a cat, no kids. The Blog- What’ll you find: Financial Information as we try to become debt free My attempts at working and trying to maintain a home to the standards I like My adventures in learning how to sew Arts and craft projects Funny tidbits from my life including living with a Scottish person, the dogs, and other oddball things that happen to me. What you won’t find: Much on children. I don’t have kids and I can’t have kids. Recipes- I don’t mind cooking, but unless it’s something really special, don’t come here looking for the weekly recipe! You won’t find it- unless you ask my husband. If you’re interested in what you see, please follow me on Facebook or sign up for emails! Most of all, leave a comment or ask a question! I am always happy to hear from you!

10 thoughts on “Final Photos from the Scottish Festival

  1. How fun! Ive never been to one of those!

  2. that looks like it was so much fun! we have our irishfest here in march-where are you?we allow the scots in tho-it’s hard to turn down a man in a kilt…sometimes the suspense just gets to be too much you took some great shots!

  3. Man, that’s soooo cool!!!  I’ve always wanted to play in the Scottish Games…honestly…I love nearly everything Scottish….I just…couldn’t…get….into…haggis…Blegh!!I Btw…I wanna get a kilt…and bagpips…got that image of Samuel L. Jackson in a kilt from Formula 51…I think I’d look pretty good with a kilt 😀

  4. ive got to say, i like the flag one the most…

  5. yes, I think you were kidding about the arm muscles right?I like my men in kilts.

  6. that looks like a fabulous time… the closest i’ve ever come to a scottish festival is a family wedding   im curious, what do women wear to scottish festivals?

  7. Didn’t see my families’ colors in there??   Hope the quitting smoking is going good.

  8. @Blue_ButterflyBaby – @Consenttotreatment – Thanks!@k8tthelate – Arkansas. 🙂  Festival was April 19th!@Viktorious1 – Ummm you should totally get one and let me tell you if you look hot in it or not.  I’ll send you cookies if you do! @lyricsninja – It’s probably one of my favorites too.  It’s kind of hard to take really indepth personal shots when there are tons of people around. 😦@jillcarmel – LOL, yes I was kidding about the arm muscles.  He had niiiiiiice arms!@Abigailigator – Most of them were wearing kilts, but the traditional dresses are kind of like poofy white dresses on the bottom with a plaid draped over it.  There are different ways to do it.  @closethippie – What is your family name?  I took a lot of clam pictures, but I didn’t post them all!

  9. Grant, Roberts, Anderson.What part of the south are y’ll from, Honey.  Maybe we is kin….or at least cuzzins

Leave a Reply

