Everything you never wanted to know about sheep herding!!!

6 Comments

In another of my many photos I took from the Scottish Festival, I made sure out of all the activities that I saw going on during the day I went to the Sheep Dog Herding “contest” which really ended up being a demonstration.  OK.  I had to learn something that day I guess, so at least it had to do with dogs!  And poo covered sheep…

Can you guess who out of all these people was giving the demonstration?  I might also point out that his socks are not the right height to be worn with a kilt and it bugs the beegeezus out of me!

herdingdemo

This sheep looked me right in the eye and said “Lassie, I ain’t bein’ scared o’ no dumb dogs”

herdingdemo1

Really?  I thought you would have been since she had such an intimidating face!!!  For those who do not know, this is a Border Collie!

herdingdemo2

Then I had to end the conversation with the sheep because it ran off.  I mean, it slowly walked away since it wasn’t scared at all *cough*

The demonstration began with the herder basically telling us he has various whistle commands for the dog.  He has to make sure at all times he commands what he wants the dog to do, because it can be very confusing for them when they actually start working.  He explained that at all times the dog will try to keep him at 12 o’clock and she will try to stay at 6 o’clock.  However, there are times where she might move somewhere else if she feels there is potential for the sheep to bolt.

herdingdemo5

See?  She is in the far left corner and the sheep are in between her and the herder.  She has no problems running them through a quick demo for us.  This is her very rudely forcing them through a gate!

herdingdemo8

They went through several obstacles before he had her put them back in the pen.

herdingdemo9

I have to tell you, never in my entire life have a seen a working dog while it was actually WORKING.  There was something about it that was beautiful and amazing all at the same time.  This dog was so SERIOUSLY focused on her task that when the handler intentionally put her in an awkward spot, she had NO PROBLEMS coping with the situation.

herdingdemo6

This is how serious and intense this dog was working for her owner.

herdingdemo3

The sheep tried to act like they weren’t scared of her, but they kept doing this:

herdingdemo7

She just kept at it, and wow it really was a beautiful sight!

herdingdemo4

I really understood after staring at her why people misunderstand these dogs a lot of the time.  I literally think this dog LIVES for the work she was doing that day.  It’s something I really think everyone should see once in their lifetime!

 

Author: Jill Stewart

I am a 37 -year-old woman from Arkansas who is happily married to a Scottish immigrant aka “the hubby” “the hubs” or if I am calling him directly “YO YOU!” We’ve been married for 3 years and it’s been a crazy ride, and unfortunately our finances have been beat to death in the last few years. We have two dogs and a cat, no kids. The Blog- What’ll you find: Financial Information as we try to become debt free My attempts at working and trying to maintain a home to the standards I like My adventures in learning how to sew Arts and craft projects Funny tidbits from my life including living with a Scottish person, the dogs, and other oddball things that happen to me. What you won’t find: Much on children. I don’t have kids and I can’t have kids. Recipes- I don’t mind cooking, but unless it’s something really special, don’t come here looking for the weekly recipe! You won’t find it- unless you ask my husband. If you’re interested in what you see, please follow me on Facebook or sign up for emails! Most of all, leave a comment or ask a question! I am always happy to hear from you!

6 thoughts on “Everything you never wanted to know about sheep herding!!!

  1. I absolutely adore watching working dogs do what they are bred to do. They live for it, and oftentimes dogs that are considered ‘working class’ dogs, don’t do very well in situations where they cant do what they usually are meant to do. Border collies are especially dear to me, I admire them so much.  I’m glad you got the chance to see such a beautiful sight. ~Misa

  2. That is way cool, thanks for sharing. I wish I could get my lazy dog to work. Like I could come home from work and it would be standing at the sink doing dishes…. haaaaa

  3. @ravensgift – I would rather mine learn how to mow the grass!

  4. They are beautiful dogs and it is truely amazing to watch them work.  Thanks for sharing your day with us.  Those socks just don’t go with the kilt, he’d be run out of the clan.

  5. @tvtfln – I like sharing photos!  It’s kind of what I “try” to do.  I really had a good time at this festival!

  6. The BC looks like it has such a kind gentle face.  I really liked your photo-diary of the event.YOU are SO right about the socks and kilt.x

Leave a Reply

