Festivals are for the birds!!

16 Comments

When we first walked into the gate of the Scottish festival, they had these pens of Golden Eagles.  I am pretty sure they said eagles, and not hawks.  Anyway, I thought they were awesome looking, so I grabbed a few photos.

goldenhawk1

goldenhawk

Now this little one I could have stuck in my pocket and taken home.  He was too cute for words in person, and stared right back at you like “What?  Can’t you see I am just sitting here looking cute?”

I want one.

babyhawk

See?  I want one!

babyhawk1

In some weird way he reminded me of my brother’s African Grey parrot Willy.  Maybe because he was about the same size or something, but man…I needed some cuddle time with this bird.  I had to force myself to walk away.

And because of my rapture in staring at him, I never heard why they were even there.  I guess I missed my history lesson that day.

Author: Jill Stewart

I am a 37 -year-old woman from Arkansas who is happily married to a Scottish immigrant aka “the hubby” “the hubs” or if I am calling him directly “YO YOU!” We’ve been married for 3 years and it’s been a crazy ride, and unfortunately our finances have been beat to death in the last few years. We have two dogs and a cat, no kids. The Blog- What’ll you find: Financial Information as we try to become debt free My attempts at working and trying to maintain a home to the standards I like My adventures in learning how to sew Arts and craft projects Funny tidbits from my life including living with a Scottish person, the dogs, and other oddball things that happen to me. What you won’t find: Much on children. I don’t have kids and I can’t have kids. Recipes- I don’t mind cooking, but unless it’s something really special, don’t come here looking for the weekly recipe! You won’t find it- unless you ask my husband. If you’re interested in what you see, please follow me on Facebook or sign up for emails! Most of all, leave a comment or ask a question! I am always happy to hear from you!

16 thoughts on “Festivals are for the birds!!

  1. Okay, gorgeous photos.  And those birds are amazing looking.  🙂

  2. Those photos were great. Thanks for sharing.

  3. @Blue__Summer – I am glad you like them!
    @zionlover – I think I like sharing photos more than anything else…and to the boredom of some. 😦

  4. I’ve been interested in falconry (hawks, eagles, falcons). I’ve always want to interact with them.  I think since they’re birds of prey they wouldn’t make such good pets.

  5. Oh I can tell we are going to like each other!
    I take my camera everywhere too!
    I am not sure I would call that bird cuddly though! lol

  6. @jaeyounglee – So you don’t think owning one and wiggling your finger in front of it’s beak is a good idea? 😉
    @angi1972 – The little one is totally cuddly.  He is a lot smaller than the photo looks.  He was about 6 inches tall.  Like I said, I think it is because he reminds me on the parrot because of his size.  I have started taking my camera everywhere.  All photography on this site is mine unless I note it as otherwise. 🙂

  7. mine too!
    I will take a leasurly stroll through your photo blog some day!
    Right now I am recovering from the tummy flu and I am ready for a nap. lol But I will enjoy it I am sure.

  8. @angi1972 – Ick!  Feel better soon!

  9. Haha.  I just imagine the eagle bringing their bloody prey’s carcasses into one’s home. Maybe you could domesticate one.  I don’t know if that would take away from their awesomeness though. 

  10. @jaeyounglee – I wouldn’t seriously want one, that was a joke, but I would have had some cuddle time with them.  The parrot loves it, maybe I can get an eagle to snuggle!

  11. @Southernlass – Thanks I will… don’t foeget to wipe down your screen and key board don’t want you to get it.

  12. Great photos. I bet this guy could identify them for you.

  13. @hapax23 – I am pretty sure that they are eagles.  I checked out the site though, and he has nice photography there too, so thank you for the recommendation! 🙂

  14. @Southernlass – I know it was a joke.  Mine was too. 

  15. @Southernlass – OK. I only mentioned him because he loves raptors of all kinds – especially owls.hap

  16. @hapax23 – I didn’t see anything to that effect on his site. 😦  I should have dug deeper. ><  I do appreciate you sending it my way!

Leave a Reply

