Weekly_Writers_Challenge

11 Comments

Weekly_Writers_Challenge proposed a five minute freestyle writing, that began with the phrase He found the cacophony distracting as he walked in the room.  This is my entry for the week.

He found the cacophony distracting as he walked in the room.  All he could hear were the loudest of the loud ascending notes blurring into an assault on the ears that made him slightly cringe.  That trumpet is flat, that trumpet is sharp, that percussionist is just hammering away to annoy everyone, he silently thought.

 

He stares down at his program and sees the names of the musicians who fill the orchestra.  As he reads, the instruments slowly stop playing and he hears a sharp rapping.  The conductor has entered the pit orchestra.  The musicians slowly bring their instruments to their lips. 

 

Then he hears it.  The sound he has been waiting for since he walked into the theater.  Her voice so pure, yet hollow,  still able to make his heart sing with her.  He looked at his arms and saw the goosebumps rise on his skin and knew then this moment was worth it. 

Author: Jill Stewart

I am a 37 -year-old woman from Arkansas who is happily married to a Scottish immigrant aka “the hubby” “the hubs” or if I am calling him directly “YO YOU!” We’ve been married for 3 years and it’s been a crazy ride, and unfortunately our finances have been beat to death in the last few years. We have two dogs and a cat, no kids. The Blog- What’ll you find: Financial Information as we try to become debt free My attempts at working and trying to maintain a home to the standards I like My adventures in learning how to sew Arts and craft projects Funny tidbits from my life including living with a Scottish person, the dogs, and other oddball things that happen to me. What you won’t find: Much on children. I don’t have kids and I can’t have kids. Recipes- I don’t mind cooking, but unless it’s something really special, don’t come here looking for the weekly recipe! You won’t find it- unless you ask my husband. If you’re interested in what you see, please follow me on Facebook or sign up for emails! Most of all, leave a comment or ask a question! I am always happy to hear from you!

11 thoughts on “Weekly_Writers_Challenge

  1. wow! Very Nicely you have written it.

  2. That’s sounded romantic. Very nicely done.

  3. Oooh that was very nice! I’m glad to see mine was not the only music-related one. -_- Everyone else’s are so much more creative than mine though!  hehehe~Misa

  4. sophist acted and beautiful!

  5. I liked it.  Too bad you ran out of time.  I was hoping he would try to own the moment, and then blow it :D-slicy

  6. Very good! Thanks for participating.

  7. mmm… You’ve even managed to imply what he’d had on his mind before the cacophony distracted him.

  8. The twist you brought in by contrasting the noise with a pure voice is very striking.

Leave a Reply

