The Moon

9 Comments

I love the moon.  It has been one of my favorite celestial bodies as long as I can remember.  I can remember being a young girl and staring out of the window of the car at the moon for entire trips.  I really enjoy it that much.  When I have a problem and the moon is out, I’m usually sitting outside staring at it while thinking about the issue.

I have always been so annoyed with my inability to get a decent picture of the moon.  It’s huge right?  It’s right there in the sky right?  It shouldn’t be that freaking difficult to get a good picture of it.

I’ve been studying up on it and I think I have discovered part of the problem.  First, I needed a tripod.  Whether you realize it or not most people move just a little bit when they are taking photos.  You have to breathe you know!  Well, my tripod came in the mail a week or two ago and last night was almost a full moon, so I went outside and tried my hand at it again.  These are better than the originals I took a few years ago, but still not where I want them to be!

Moon and pets 029

Moon and pets 010

Moon and pets 042

Author: Jill Stewart

I am a 37 -year-old woman from Arkansas who is happily married to a Scottish immigrant aka “the hubby” “the hubs” or if I am calling him directly “YO YOU!” We’ve been married for 3 years and it’s been a crazy ride, and unfortunately our finances have been beat to death in the last few years. We have two dogs and a cat, no kids. The Blog- What’ll you find: Financial Information as we try to become debt free My attempts at working and trying to maintain a home to the standards I like My adventures in learning how to sew Arts and craft projects Funny tidbits from my life including living with a Scottish person, the dogs, and other oddball things that happen to me. What you won’t find: Much on children. I don’t have kids and I can’t have kids. Recipes- I don’t mind cooking, but unless it’s something really special, don’t come here looking for the weekly recipe! You won’t find it- unless you ask my husband. If you’re interested in what you see, please follow me on Facebook or sign up for emails! Most of all, leave a comment or ask a question! I am always happy to hear from you!

9 thoughts on “The Moon

  1. Those pictures are great.  I’ve tried to take pictures of the moon too and none of them ever turned out.

  2. Tripods are amazing things.  Try setting your shutter speed really slow (if you haven’t already) on the tripod.  I have found that helps with getting more detail, Ansel Adams style.

  3. @newbie2005 – It’s from the camera shaking.  I promise!  A tripod made a huuuuge difference.
    @Ultra_Bright – I did have the shutter speed pretty slow.  I tried the camera on all different kinds of settings to get the pictures I was able to get.  I was afraid that leaving the shutter open too long would let in too much light?  I also need to go in and play with all of the custom settings I can use to make it do exactly what I want.

  4. These are lovely pictures. I am also in love with the moon and like to stare it continously. Now also while coming from office, I was just staring at it.

  5. Those are lovely photos just the same. With time you’ll get them the way you want it. In the meantime, I’m enjoying the view.

  6. Oh. Oooh, that last picture is so amazingly gorgeous! Wow, those are jsut beautiful pics. ~Misa

  7. @ReachOutToHeaven – Thank you very much!
    @zionlover – Thank you, that’s really sweet!
    @DarkAngelKat00 – I like them all but for some reason I like the pictures with the branches in front a little better.  They kind of seem a bit more mysterious or something.  I am glad you are enjoying them!

  8. It is a trick our eyes play on us. We see the full moon bigger than what it actually is. The photograph is actually a more accurate picture.

Leave a Reply

