Junior High School Face Plants

3 Comments

It’s true.  I am probably the most clumsy person I know.  I look back on my youth and wonder over and over again how it was that I managed to play sports like a fiend, and be good at them, while being as clumsy as I am.  Oh the stories I could tell you to throughly embarrass myself.  OK, I am gonna do it. *cringe*

I played volleyball in Junior High.  I am sure I was only allowed on the team because in JR.HIGH being 5’3 is somewhat tall.  I think the coach had hopes I would end up a lot taller than the .5 inches I grew before my body said “Nah, that’s it.”  Our volleyball net was portable for practices, so basically they were tall poles inside a tire and filled with concrete.  We would roll them out everyday and tie the tops of the poles to the bleachers to keep them from moving while we practiced.  I hope you are getting a good mental picture here of my gym and NOT of all the hot guys playing volleyball in Top Gun.  Nope, I am not thinking of hot sweaty guys from movies either.  Jr. High School thoughts only!

There I was in all of my 5’3 glory doing warm up laps around the gym.  When we approached the ropes tied to the bleachers, we simply jumped over them and kept on running.  Until the day my back foot caught it and I did a belly flop right onto the gym floor.  C sized boobs + gym floor = THE SUCK.  Why didn’t my math teacher give me THAT lesson?  At least it is something I could have used in the real world.  To make it so much less embarrassing, (sarcasm), Coach Norton came to see if I was ok.  Of course, I am a good sport about embarrassing moments, so I was lying there laughing my head off, and I look up to see the coach snickering as she asked me if I was ok.  That was a great moment in my life and probably one I will never forget.

How about you?

Author: Jill Stewart

I am a 37 -year-old woman from Arkansas who is happily married to a Scottish immigrant aka “the hubby” “the hubs” or if I am calling him directly “YO YOU!” We’ve been married for 3 years and it’s been a crazy ride, and unfortunately our finances have been beat to death in the last few years. We have two dogs and a cat, no kids. The Blog- What’ll you find: Financial Information as we try to become debt free My attempts at working and trying to maintain a home to the standards I like My adventures in learning how to sew Arts and craft projects Funny tidbits from my life including living with a Scottish person, the dogs, and other oddball things that happen to me. What you won’t find: Much on children. I don’t have kids and I can’t have kids. Recipes- I don’t mind cooking, but unless it’s something really special, don’t come here looking for the weekly recipe! You won’t find it- unless you ask my husband. If you’re interested in what you see, please follow me on Facebook or sign up for emails! Most of all, leave a comment or ask a question! I am always happy to hear from you!

3 thoughts on “Junior High School Face Plants

  1. Being rather clumsy, myself…Well- Lets just say U learn to laugh a lot at your mistakes…LOL

  2. You make me laugh, not at you but definitely with you! 

  3. @aj_mudd – 
    @amandaarallen – 
    I am glad others find it funny too!  We have to look back on ourselves and laugh sometimes.  It’s a good way to make sure you keep those memories alive!

Leave a Reply

